Skip to content

CONTEST: Bad, Author. No Blog For You!

1 Jan 2008

My name is Ann and I’m a blog-aholic.

In the last quarter of 2007, I wrote less than 5000 words…only half of which wasn’t utter drivel. I can blame it on the day job and the unexpected travel my boss threw at me, but that only accounts for 25%.

The remaining 75%?

Blog-hopping.

Yup, that’s my shameful addiction. (Uh, that was pretty obvious from the first line, right?)

I used to visit at least five different blogs, including Dear Author, Dionne Galace, Karen Scott, Mrs. Giggles, and Smart Bitches, each day–sometimes several times day–and comment on nearly every entry because I operated under the delusion people needed to be made aware of my opinion. All my opinions. Even worse, my lecture tone came–probably still comes–across loud and clear in my written words.

And I have a lot of useless knowledge in my head I like to share with the world.

And I’m passionate about a lot of things, so there was also a bit lot of ranting.

And I kept breaking the cardinal rule of if-you-don’t-have-anything-nice-to-say-then-don’t-say-anything-at-all…even when the topic of discussion is another author’s book. Most people have a filter between their brain and their mouth. I do, too; I just don’t use it 99% of the time and I’m sure I wandered into author-behaving-obnoxiously territory more than once and ended up offending other people.

[Deep breath.]

In 2008, I resolve to stay away from all blogs, other than here and Ladies of the Club.

[Crickets chirping in the background.]

Okay, I’m really only holding out for a four-month sabbatical because I know I’m weak, weak, weak. (2008 is the year of the Rat, so I’m allowed to turn, right?) Hopefully, however, within those four months I can get a decent amount of writing completed. In May, it’ll be corporate plan time and I’ll be back to 80-hour work weeks until October. (Yes, yes. I, too, hear the world’s smallest violin playing for me.)

Anyway, what’s your New Year’s resolution? What bad habit are you going to break this year? And do you think you have the willpower to keep it? Everyone who shares will be entered for a copy of any of my releases. Entry deadline is January 31 at 5 PM MST.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. cathy M permalink
    1 Jan 2008 2:22 PM

    This year’s goal is to be healthier and to de-stress my life a bit.

  2. Estella permalink
    1 Jan 2008 3:54 PM

    I don’t make New Years resolutions—I only break them if I do.

  3. 2 Jan 2008 12:56 PM

    Aw the old ‘lose weight’ But this time weight watchers is gonna help, plus I have a bet with my aunt, that she can’t dye her hair for a whole year (she’s trying to hide the greys) and I have to lose 50+ pounds or the loser has to pay the winner $100! Wish me luck lol

    ~Candice

  4. 2 Jan 2008 1:02 PM

    Cathy M – You are more ambitious that I’ll ever be.

    Estella – lol. I already know I’m going to break mine at the four month mark…and if it’s sooner, I’ll just lie to myself.

    Candice – Good luck! Just think of what you can buy with the $100. And I see nothing wrong with having grey hair. I can’t wait to go grey because it’s like a free pass. Old people can get away with saying and doing the most outrageous things.

  5. Judith permalink
    22 Jan 2008 7:33 AM

    I resolve to be healthier.
    I kept it vague so I have a general aim and then I wont get disheartened if I stumble over some of the steps!

  6. Amy T permalink
    22 Jan 2008 11:28 AM

    I resolve to have a more normal sleep pattern, which in turn should help with being less depressed and more productive – and more active, which should mean healthier, too.

  7. sassytdw permalink
    28 Jan 2008 12:08 AM

    new years resolution…..to be more sociable…..only time will tell…cause i do so love my meeeee time….

  8. DeeD permalink
    28 Jan 2008 2:18 PM

    To throw out my skinny closet if I can’t manage to lose 20 pounds by July 1. Mind you, 20 pounds doesn’t get me in to my skinny clothes, but at least it’s a start.

Trackbacks

  1. January Contest Winner! « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

