Skip to content

Tact? What's that?

3 Jan 2008

beforedawn.jpg
So this is the third and final cover for Before Dawn. The note that came with the file very politely said, “That’s it. No more changes. Next book, please.”

It’s not that I didn’t like the previous covers. They were eye-catching and captured the dark, sensual mood I wanted, but the male model on the cover didn’t quite match the hero I depicted in the story. (The hero is an Irish white boy with dark blond hair. The model was hot, but in a Vin Diesel kind of way… Uh, maybe I should’ve kept one of the previous covers.)

After the first cover, I was tactful…and got back the same cover with two minor changes. Then I threw political correctness out the window and bluntly stated my problem. Luckily, Syneca has a sense of humor.

Now, this one doesn’t capture the mood I wanted as effectively as the previous covers, but it works. Or does it? What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

