Skip to content

TT #7: A Chick with a Guy's Movie Collection?

16 Jan 2008

Every time a new male buddy comes over to my place, he inevitably ignores the stunning river views outside my floor-to-ceiling windows and stares raptly at my widescreen LCD TV. After he manages to drag his eyes away from my favourite toy, he notices the movies on the shelf and says, “Hey, you have a guy’s DVD collection!”

Do I? Judge for yourself from the list of movies I bought on Boxing Day and let me know.

13 Movies I Bought on Boxing Day

Number 1
Hellboy Animated: Sword of Storms (2006). I just love Mike Mignola and Ron Perlman.

Number 2
Live Free or Die Hard (2007). Not as good as the first one. Then again, who can top the smooth, suave, and deliciously, unapologetically evil Alan Rickman?

Number 3
Transformers (2007). I waited 20 years for the live action movie and even with no plot and no characterization for my beloved Autobots and Decepticons, I still LOVE this movie.

Number 4
300 (2007). Is this really a guy flick? It’s a bunch of well-built men running around in itty, bitty clothing. *drool*

Number 5
Spider-Man 3 (2007). I had to complete the collection.

Number 6
The Bourne Ultimatum (2007). Matt Damon is so much better as Jason Bourne than Richard Chamberlain.

Number 7
Ratatouille (2007). It’s animated and it features food. This combination is heaven for me.

Number 8
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007). I’ve been a fan of Johnny Depp since 21 Jump Street.

Number 9
Ocean’s Thirteen (2007). Oh, it’s so much better than Ocean’s Twelve, even if Al Pacino looks like a carrot. And Matt Damon’s prosthetic nose is hilarious! I loved the scene where he couldn’t drink out of the champagne flute because the nose got in the way.

Number 10
Smokin’ Aces (2007). The ending was perfect.

Number 11
Blades of Glory (2007). I have a soft spot for Will Ferrel. And this is a feel-good movie, just like Zoolander and Dodgeball.

Number 12
Superman Returns (2006). I’m not really a Superman fan (I think Batman can kick his primary-coloured butt any day), but I couldn’t resist the $9.99 price. (Actually, all but one of the movies were between $4.99 and $9.99.)

Number 13
TMNT (2007). I love my Ninja Turtles. I just wish David Wise would come back to the franchise.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 Jan 2008 6:03 PM

    I like or would like to see 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 & 12. 🙂

  2. 16 Jan 2008 6:28 PM

    Natalie — I recommend everything except for #12. It put me to sleep–and I wanted to kill Lois Lane for taking her son on an investigation, thereby putting him in unnecessary danger. It was a TSTL moment that I can’t erase from my memory.

  3. 16 Jan 2008 7:16 PM

    I am a guy, but I don’t have any of those. In fact i have never seen any of them but I do have #2 on my Netflix list. I am not expecting it to be as good as the first or third ones in the series, but it’s probably a good way to spend a couple of hours.

  4. 16 Jan 2008 8:13 PM

    It was very refreshing to see a woman list movies in her collection and not be bombarded with the “usual suspects” (Julia Roberts, Meg Ryan, Sandra Bullock, etc.). It reminds me of the DVD collection of my ex-girlfriend. She was into the “Star Wars” films, “X-Men”, “The Sopranos”, etc.

  5. 16 Jan 2008 10:40 PM

    I love Ratatouille! My kids love it as well! Great list..I have seen a few of the others as well.

  6. 16 Jan 2008 10:42 PM

    Nicholas — I guess I’m a philistine when it comes to movies.

    Malcolm — The “usual suspects,” as you put it, usually make me roll my eyes–and I can never bear to watch them more than once. Now, “Star Wars” (but only the original where Han shot first), “X-Men”, and the like, I can watch ’em over and over again for the action sequences and comedy. They’re just more entertaining.

  7. 16 Jan 2008 10:45 PM

    Melanie — “Ratatouille” so rocks! After watching that movie, the urge to make ratatouille was so great that I had to hit the grocery store in sweats, a baseball cap, and runners. My version wasn’t as artistic as Remy’s, but it was still pretty good.

  8. 16 Jan 2008 10:59 PM

    I love #7,8,9 — and I agree they are also guy movies because my better half enjoyed them just as much as I did!
    Happy TT!

  9. 17 Jan 2008 12:01 AM

    Hey,
    i love those movies, too! :o) I’d place them right along my chick flicks, lol!

  10. 17 Jan 2008 7:10 PM

    Lara – 2007 was such a good movie year.

    CandyQ – The only chick flick I’ll ever admit to owning is “Ever After”. How can I not enjoy a movie where the heroine not only saves herself, but the hero as well?

Leave a Reply

