Skip to content

CONTEST: My First Time

1 Feb 2008

First off: Get your mind out of the gutter. This post does not fall into TMI territory.

I read my first romance novel in grade five (I started university at 16, so you can calculate my age on your own). It was a Silhouette category romance. I don’t remember much, except for the red-headed heroine who was in love with her cousin. She owned 49% of the family business while he had 51%. He was her guardian until she threw a hissy fit and he gave her control of her trust fund. Her first purchase with her new money was a European-green Jaguar. Love the color, hate the vehicle. Yadda, yadda, yadda. They got their HEA.

Pretty average (actually, below average) read, but it was memorable because it was my first romance novel and the first time I read a sex scene. At that age, I was a little confused as to what I was reading and repeated use of the word “seed” out of my then-limited context made me go “Huh?”

Needless to say, this book didn’t make me want to go out and put my little hands on every romance novel out there. That came about a year later with Ruth Langan‘s Highland Heather. A feisty Scottish heroine, an alpha English lord, an Elizabethan setting, stirring action, sex scenes without the word “seed,” and I was hooked.

Goodbye, Judy Blume. (Although, I do have the entire Fudge series in hardcover on my bookshelf.) Hello, Harlequin.

Share the book that changed your reading habits to be entered in a draw for an ebook from my available titles. Contest closes February 29, 2008 at 5 PM MST.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    10 Feb 2008 4:43 PM

    A lifetime ago in a galaxy far far away (Mexico City)…

    I found a battered copy (still in my possession) of EMHull’s “The Sheik.” It shocked me and enthralled me because it was the first book in my experience in which the romantic relationship took center stage. (I had been on a steady diet of Verne, Dickens, Dumas, Christie, Scott, Alcott, and a long list of ‘appropriate classics’ by my librarian mother). It took a few years before Harlequin started publishing DESEO and other lines in Spanish, but I jumped on that wagon by the time I was 11, every time I could get my dirty paws on some change.

    Three decades later, I still read all sorts of things, but romance is the staple by a loooooooooong margin.

  2. cathy M permalink
    17 Feb 2008 2:05 PM

    Yeah, a million years ago, lol. I think The Witch of Blackbird Pond is the book that swayed me to romance stories. Then lots of historical romances until I discovered Kathleen Woodiwiss. I found that the sexier the storyline the better, and love all the choices out there now to choose from. A genre to suit my every mood, I love that.

  3. Deidre Durance permalink
    17 Feb 2008 6:38 PM

    I am not even sure which book it was, but I do know that the first romance book I remember reading was by Johanna Lindsey. It was absolutely new territory to me. I loved it and devoured any book I could find by her for years. I was probably in about sixth or seventh grade when I read it.

  4. cathy M permalink
    20 Feb 2008 3:55 PM

    I devoured all of Johanna’s early romance books, too, Deidre. Not so much anymore, but at the time I loved the sensuality and storylines.

Trackbacks

  1. February Contest Winner! « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

