Skip to content

TT #10: What's in a Name

13 Feb 2008

The Ellora’s Cave editors at Redlines and Deadlines gave a list of overused names in romance (what’s up with Granite?!?) and encouraged writers to inject a little variety into their characters–or at least their names.

But, can you go too far in the other direction? Most definitely. Wildcat Arrows, anyone? Then I came across the list of baby names registered in Alberta for 2007 and concluded writers slapping unique names on their characters is not nearly as heinous as parents doing the same thing to their children. (Sometimes I think people need to pass a test before being allowed to have children.)

13 Names that Will Scar for Life

Number 1
Obsidian-Angel (m). Mom read one too many LKH novels?

Number 2
Rubi-Jewel (f). Besides being redundant, I see a pole in this girl’s future.

Number 3
Raynebow-Roze (m). I’m speechless.

Number 4
Baby (f). I saw the movie, I hated the movie, and 147 girls were slapped with this injustice! Why?!

Number 5
Mc (f). Would you like fries with that?

Number 6
Unique (f). The pun is just too easy.

Number 7
J-La (f). Will J-Lo sue?

Number 8
Faty (f). You know someone’s going to add another T.

Number 9
Princess-Jane (f). Why not Queen-Jane? Or Empress-of-the-Universe-Jane?

Number 10
Samantha-Storm (f). Heck, why not just go with Sue Storm?

Number 11
Toto (f). Nicer people will think it’s a tribute to the band, but I’m not one of them.

Number 12
Tater (m)…tot.

Number 13
Timber (m). He’s 18, has a girlfriend, have an empty house to themselves… Please don’t make me spell it out.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 Feb 2008 6:10 PM

    My TT is up.

    My cousin can tell you all about stupid names she was named Lady Priscilla and her parents insisted everyone call her Lady Priscella until she reached her teens and became plain Priscella.

  2. Mama Kelly permalink
    13 Feb 2008 6:41 PM

    What a horribly scary list of names. How could anyone do that to a child?!?! LOL

  3. 13 Feb 2008 6:48 PM

    Those names are just plain cruel!

  4. 13 Feb 2008 7:32 PM

    Talk about ensuring your child has a tuff time in school. Geesh! That’s borderline abuse.lol Happy Valentine’s Day!

  5. 13 Feb 2008 7:57 PM

    Eeps now that is definitely insensitive to saddle them with names like that!

    Happy T13 🙂

  6. 13 Feb 2008 8:01 PM

    So true! We used to joke about some of the names while I was pregnant!

  7. 13 Feb 2008 10:24 PM

    are these for real? how scary.

  8. 13 Feb 2008 10:30 PM

    Maybe Toto was for the dog in Wizard of Oz? Poor kids, at least they can change it later.

  9. 13 Feb 2008 11:10 PM

    Yup, these names were all taken from birth certificates registered in 2007. I provided a link to the source at the beginning of the post. Truth is definitely stranger–and crueler–than fiction.

    My appreciation for my mom grew by leaps and bounds while I was perusing these lists.

  10. 14 Feb 2008 1:39 AM

    What is scarier than: Pass the Exam (translated from the Indonesian name Lulus Ujian), Pertamina’s Employee (translated from the Indonesian name Karyawati Pertamina–Pertamina is an oil company in Indonesia)…so silly!

  11. 14 Feb 2008 7:03 AM

    It takes all kinds, I guess. 🙂 Neighbors who lived in the town where I grew up had eight daughters and named them all after flowers — I remember Pansy, Violet, Rose and Blossom…and there were more. Happy Hearts Day!

  12. 14 Feb 2008 8:43 AM

    Very funny list! It does make you wonder why people come up with the names for their babies that they do come up with!

  13. 14 Feb 2008 8:59 AM

    OMG my little step neice has the middle name of Tator and we call her tator tot whenever she is being cute. One day she is going to hate us all! I made the mistake in a book naming my three sisters: Emerald, Ames and Sapphire… They made me change the names and I see why now LOL
    Great list
    Sarai
    http://www.saraij.blogspot.com

  14. 14 Feb 2008 9:05 AM

    Oh man… I think I’d disown my parents if I’d gotten a name like that.

  15. 14 Feb 2008 1:38 PM

    HAhahaha…great list. Seriously, there are some names that are just child abuse. Then again, some folks bring it upon themselves. I knew a lady named Heidi who chose to take her husband’s last name…Ho. Seriously, she was Heidi Ho…

    Happy TT!!

  16. 14 Feb 2008 6:11 PM

    This is not made up: my cousin name his son Anakin Skywalker “Smith” although the last name is much longer and more complicated than Smith. I’m being completely serious.

  17. 14 Feb 2008 7:27 PM

    Nancy – EIGHT!? I’d be picking a theme too if I had to come up with eight names.

    Sarai – Oh, that poor little girl! She’s going to develop a hatred for potatoes.

    Karina – Oh, man. I’d forced the DH to take my last name in that case. But women in love do strange things. I know a woman who married a man who’s last name is Tittsworth…and she changed her name to his.

    Tasina – Does your cousin realize his son’s initials are ASS?

  18. 14 Feb 2008 7:48 PM

    Ann – No…”Smith is not the last name….it actually starts with a D….I just used Smith as a filler!”

  19. 14 Feb 2008 7:52 PM

    Oh, thank God!

    I guess it could’ve been worse then… It could’ve been Han Solo. There would be people like me who would slip a D at the end of the first name.

Trackbacks

  1. Songs and Names » TT #10: What’s in a Name The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

