Skip to content

Romance. Novels, Yes. Movies, No.

17 Mar 2008

I love romance novels. Historicals, regencies, westerns, contemporaries, and (very, very, very occasionally) paranormals. Some of it’s intricate, suspenseful, comedic, realistic, imaginative, dramatic, violent. Others can be incredibly cheesy, cliched, blatantly emotionally manipulative (e.g. Harlequin Presents). And I love ’em. I love how the written word can take me away and entertain for a few hours here and there. I love how reading a well-deserved HEA can lighten my mood. I love a good romance novel, and, if I’m in the right frame of mind, sometimes even a bad one.

Romantic movies, on the other hand, make me roll my eyes. I simply don’t get chick flicks. The Princess Bride. (AB: Thanks to AL for pointing out this movie is a parody.) When Harry Met Sally. Four Weddings and a Funeral. Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Chocolat. Roman Holiday. Sabrina. The English Patient. Notting Hill. City of Angels. An Affair to Remember. Dirty Dancing. (And I still haven’t watched Titanic in its entirety. C’mon, folks. Jack didn’t have to die. That door Rose was floating on was big enough for two!) Those were all meh viewings for me. In some cases, I cringed at certain scenes and dialogue. I don’t get embarrassed by the man-titty on so many romance novel covers, but actually hearing lines like “I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her” make me want to gag. (And will someone please explain to me “Love means never having to say you’re sorry”!)

That’s not to say there aren’t corny lines in romance novel. They are plentiful. Romance novels, however, allow me to direct the scene in my head, so I can remove most of the cheese factor. A movie is someone else’s interpretation, over which I have no control. And it’s apparent what I want to see in a romantic movie is not what the general public enjoys. Or maybe I don’t have a romantic bone in my body. Or, more likely, I’m just juvenile. (I do get more excited when the BF buys me a video game than flowers.)

Like everything, there are exceptions to my general dislike of chick flicks. Amélie. Ever After. Enchanted. Stardust. And… Um, well, okay those four are probably the only chick flicks I enjoyed. And that’s probably because they’re not traditional romantic movies and are more than just about the relationship between the lead characters. (And Ever After had Danielle lifting the prince onto her shoulders to save him from gypsies and rescuing herself in the end.)

Another Julia Stiles/Julia Roberts/Nicole Kidman/Jennifer Aniston/Jennifer Lopez/[insert name of actress du jour] romantic movie? Uh, no, thanks. I’ll take something by that philistine Michael Bay instead. (Only 466 days until Transformers 2!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 Mar 2008 1:28 AM

    Hi there….

    Just wondring if you would share your sources on upcoming movies to be shown.. like the transformers II you said. I can really use it.

    Thanks by the way..

    Oh, by the way, I guess you’re also into videos… or music videos as well. you might wanna try using (&fmt=18) to enhance some videos. But just take note that only “some” videos can be enhanced using this trick.. depending on the format really. but it’s very easy by the way.

    The code is: &fmt=18

    or you can just go to…. http://3critical.wordpress.com

    it’s more complete and detailed.. it

  2. 17 Mar 2008 2:04 AM

    everydayman — Thanks for the YouTube tip!

    I use http://www.imdb.com to get info on movies, both released and upcoming.

    However, if you don’t already know what movies are being released, http://www.comingsoon.net might be more useful.

  3. azteclady permalink
    17 Mar 2008 6:55 AM

    Ann, m’dear, Princess Bride is not a chick flick nor a romance–it’s the best parody ever. There ain’t a non-quotable line in the entire movie! And Mandy Patinkin is beyond delicious 😀

    (And keep in mind that imdb.com is updated by members, which translates into some misinformation and rumors being written as facts. As in most things, user beware.)

  4. 17 Mar 2008 9:03 AM

    Thanks, AL. Okay, I stand corrected on TPB. But it was still meh for me and I didn’t laugh out loud at anything. Then again, I had a lot of people telling me it was the bestest movie evah, so I had high expectations. It could also be the movie was made in 1987 and I watched it with a 2008 mind set… But that still doesn’t explain it since I’m a fan of the cheesy, low-budget Army of Darkness.

  5. azteclady permalink
    17 Mar 2008 11:53 AM

    Now I feel all responsible and stuff…

    *tucking tongue firmly in cheek* Ann, don’t feel bad, my mother didn’t understand the appeal of Princess Bride either

    *ahem*

  6. Charlene permalink
    18 Mar 2008 6:13 AM

    Don’t worry about Titanic, unless you have a jones to see the needless deaths of over 1,500 people bastardized to tell a stale, trite, and in many ways impossible story about twu wuv.

Leave a Reply

