Skip to content

It's Not for You, It's Only for Me

18 Mar 2008

Sounds selfish, doesn’t it? Some readers out there think writers should write for them (the readers) and their enjoyment. Nope, not me. When I write, it’s all for me, me, me. Pleasing myself is my only priority when I pick up a pen or put fingers to keyboard (it’s not as dirty as it sounds). Why? Reading taste is incredibly subjective. Thus, I can’t please everybody and I don’t want to even try. That way lies a straitjacket and a padded room.

Not convinced? Still think I’m being unreasonable? Well, Rules of Engagement is somewhat violent (hey, I love Michael Bay’s action flicks and I’m addicted to comic books). One reviewer hated the brutality:

[the ending is] a total blunder of unwarranted violence. (Night Owl Romance, 4/5)

Luckily for me, “the vivacious (?!?) strength of Jake and Karatzyna’s [sic] bedroom acrobatics rescues” the story for that reader, so she was willing to overlook my “blunder.” Another reviewer really enjoyed the ending:

[Bruce] crafted the most exciting climatic scene that this reviewer has read in a long time. (Coffee Time Romance, 4/5)

Uh, to whom am I supposed to listen? If I tried to please both, I’d never write another word. That would be bad; maybe not for you, but definitely for me and my sanity. And, frankly, I’d rather listen to my muse because (1) it doesn’t have dissociative identity disorder and (2) it doesn’t shut up until I give in. So, I’m going to continue to revel in my selfishness and write for me, and if there are others out there who enjoy the words I string together (like my editor), that’s a bonus.

(By the way, to the detriment of my fledgling writing career, I don’t follow trends, but some people have mentioned my upcoming release, Before Dawn, is a vampire romance, so I must be jumping on the paranormal/urban fantasy bandwagon. Uh, no, not really. My little contribution to this sub-genre is– Nah, I’m not telling. You’ll have to read the book. Shameless baiting, I know. Oh, and this one is a little gory, so avoid it if you don’t like a little blood with your reading.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    18 Mar 2008 11:37 AM

    In my experience as a reader, the books I’ve enjoyed the most have been written to satisfy their authors. As far as I can see, they tend to be less formulaic and much more organic.

    You do your thing and enjoy yourself while doing it, Ann.

    (No, not *that* way, you dirty minded… *ahem*)

  2. limecello permalink
    18 Mar 2008 4:39 PM

    😛 There’s just no way to please everyone.
    I tend to follow authors, and sometimes when they “jump on a bandwagon” – it’s just not the same, and I stop reading their work for that series. The ones who write for themselves/just think it’s time to try their hand at something new generally end up with a much better book. Well, that’s just my very unscientific finding.

Trackbacks

  1. NEW RELEASE: Before Dawn « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

