Skip to content

TT #13: They're Real to Me

19 Mar 2008

In case you didn’t know, I’m addicted to cartoons and comic books. The artworks are visually stunning, the plots engaging, and some of the characters are pretty darn hot. Oh, yeah. I’m a sick, sick person, but you can’t tell me the following 13 aren’t hot.

13 Reasons to Drool Over Cartoons and Comics

Number 1
Batman/Bruce Wayne…but only the one voiced by Kevin Conroy. Oh, yes, I have the entire Batman: The Animated Series on DVD.

batman.png

Number 2
Hellboy. He’s big, he’s red, he’s the smart-ass from hell. And, ladies, Ron Perlman does lend his voice to the animated movies.

hellboy.gif

Number 3
Optimus Prime. Possibly the greatest leader evah! And Peter Cullin’s voice is simply perfect.

optimusprime.jpg

Number 4
Goliath from Disney’s Gargoyles. Not conventionally good-looking (who wants one of those?), but he’s an alpha who’s not borderline Neanderthal.

goliath.jpg

Number 5
The Beast from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. Am I the only one who prefers the Beast to the prince in human form? I thought the human form was kinda girly.

beast.jpg

Number 6
Dream/The Sandman from Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman series. He’s a little thin for my tastes, but I love how he struggles to change and to right past wrongs. For such a powerful character, he’s incredibly vulnerable.

sandman.jpg

Number 7
Samurai Jack. He’s kind, a little naive, tireless in his quest, and his legs look great in a pair heels (see the “Jack’s Shoes” episode). He’s just all-around great. I hope they finish the movie and send him home.

samuraijack.jpg

Number 8
Gambit. Those abs make me forget the red eyes.

gambit.jpg

Number 9
Jason Blood. He should be pretty popular with the romance-reading crowd these days since his other form is Etrigan. Me, I just like fallen characters who try to redeem themselves.

jblood2.jpg
etrigan1.gif

Number 10
Deadpool. The Merc with the Mouth’s lost his good looks, but anti-heroes and reluctant heroes appeal to me. I never want them too goody-goody (notice Superman is not on this list and will never make this list).

deadpool.gif

Number 11
Lex Luthor. Remember I mentioned the appeal of anti-heroes and reluctant heroes? Well, Lex is also both (he saved Earth in the final episode of Justice League Unlimited). And Clancy Brown’s voice is quite seductive.

lexluthor10jpg.png

Number 12
Magneto. Another villain who’s sometimes a reluctant hero. And, once again, the voice, provided by David Hemblen, is amazing.

magneto.jpg

Number 13
Diego from Ice Age. No, I don’t have furry fantasies. Notice the reluctant hero and redemption theme, yet? Add a dry wit and I’m hooked. And Denis Leary was stellar.

diego1.jpg

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 Mar 2008 3:41 PM

    I love Ice Age! These images together are full of energy and imagination. Wonderful!

  2. azteclady permalink
    19 Mar 2008 3:47 PM

    You also seem to have a thing for voices… great voices, of course 😀

  3. 19 Mar 2008 3:51 PM

    azteclady – In a perfect world, Bruce Timm or Mike Mignola or Frank Miller would create a character just for Alan Rickman’s voice. That man can read a phone book and I would be happy. Put him to a comic book reluctant hero or anti-hero and I’d die happy.

  4. 19 Mar 2008 4:02 PM

    It is all about the voice hehe. Amusing TT thanks, I mentioned Beast as well but in a slightly different context 🙂

  5. azteclady permalink
    19 Mar 2008 5:06 PM

    ooooooooooohhhhhhhhh Alan Rickman!

    Okay, that’s it, I can’t think for a while. Excuse me while I drool.

  6. 19 Mar 2008 5:59 PM

    I completely forgot about Gargoyles. I used to love that show. Oh, the memories. And I do agree about Gambit. I always wanted him and Rogue to hook up.

  7. 19 Mar 2008 6:12 PM

    Quite a list of bad boys. There are quite a few I didn’t know.

  8. 19 Mar 2008 7:32 PM

    Oh, this is a great post! My 12-year-old daughter LOVES Magneto and they all love (even my hubby and the 3-year-old twins) the animated Batman series.

  9. 19 Mar 2008 8:26 PM

    Awesome list!

  10. 20 Mar 2008 1:05 AM

    Love, love, love Kevin Conroy’s Batman! Yep, I’m 34 years old, but still plop myself down in front of some cartoons on Saturday mornings with my bowl of cereal & usually, I’ve got some Batman on. (Though now it’s usually bran flakes I’m eating rather than something good like Count Chocula.)

    …& Clancy Brown could recite the ABCs & sound cool, I think. 😉

  11. 20 Mar 2008 3:55 AM

    I like your taste in comic book hunks! My favorites are Magneto and Samurai Jack.

  12. 20 Mar 2008 8:51 AM

    Thanks, ladies! (And, yep, I did notice only people with ovaries commented on this post.) I can unashamedly admit that I’m 28 going on 13.

  13. 20 Mar 2008 12:46 PM

    I had a crush on Handy Smurf when I was a kid. I also love Batman! I have developed an interest in anime and I highly recommend checking out their male characters.

  14. 20 Mar 2008 12:58 PM

    beeker – Did you ever think it was kinky that there was only one Smurfette for 104 males Smurfs? Just askin’.

  15. 21 Mar 2008 5:14 AM

    Some of these bring back great memories! I’m in my 30s now but Optimus Prime is still my favorite.

Leave a Reply

