Skip to content

Good Intentions

20 Mar 2008

At the Clark Kent job, we hired a dozen new graduates fresh from university.  A lot of them come from different parts of the country and some are living on their own for the first time.  Three of them come to me regularly for advice on filing income taxes, pension plans, housing, locating doctors and dentists and other medical practitioners, and how to work the company health and dental benefits.  I don’t mind helping them out because I know this stuff like the back of my hand (what’s the point of having good a healthcare plan if you don’t use it?).

Then yesterday, one of the kids (that’s what I call them), told me I’m his Office Mom.

He’s twenty-three; I’m twenty-eight.  How did this happen?!?

Oh, yes, I’m definitely using this in a future book.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    20 Mar 2008 10:58 AM

    Back in my previous life, we were renting a room out to two of the then-husband’s co-workers. These guys were six and eight years older than lil ole newlywed, 20yo moi–yet they called me mom.

    It’s all about them–or so I’ve been telling myself in the 20+yrs since 😉

  2. 20 Mar 2008 11:22 AM

    Yeah, probably. But now I need to go to someplace that will ID me to make myself feel better.

Leave a Reply

