Skip to content

TT #14: Killing More Brain Cells

26 Mar 2008

My Highly Anticipated Movies

Number 1
Transformers 2 (26 June 2009). Was there any doubt it would be at the top of my list?

Number 2
Star Wars: The Clone Wars (15 August 2008). The animation style is that of the creators of Samurai Jack, so it should be pretty spectacular. And it’s NOT written by Lucas, so we can all breathe a sigh of relief.

Number 3
The Dark Knight (18 July 2008). I didn’t think Christian Bale would work for me as Batman after seeing him in American Psycho, but I loved the dark undertones and the grittiness of Batman Returns Begins (note from AB: brain blipped there), so yeah, I’m now a fan, despite Katie Holmes. And I hear Heath Ledger is absolutely chilling as The Joker.

Number 4
Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (1 July 2009). I didn’t like the sequel as much as the original, but I love Diego too much not to watch.

Number 5
Hellboy II: The Golden Army (11 July 2008). The sequel has a bigger budget, so I’m hoping the final battle with the big baddie won’t be as meh as in the first movie.

Number 6
WALL•E (27 June 2008). It’s Pixar. ‘Nuff said.

Number 7
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (22 May 2008). Sean Connery won’t be in it, but I’m sure Shia LaBeouf will make up for it.

Number 8
X-Men Origins: Wolverine (1 May 2009). They’re not going with the “Origins” 4-issue story arc by Paul Jenkins, Bill Jemas, & Joe Quesada, but I hear Gambit’s going to be in the movie.

Number 9
The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (1 August 2008). Rachel Weisz opted out of the movie due to a bad script, but nothing can be as bad as The Scorpion King.

Number 10
The Incredible Hulk (13 June 2008). I’m not sure about Edward Norton as Bruce Banner, but as long as the CGI isn’t as noticeable as it was in the first movie with Eric Bana, I’ll be okay.

Number 11
Iron Man (2 May 2008). Iron Man is not one of my favorite characters, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Robert Downey Jr. Whatever his problems, the man can act.

Number 12
Will Eisner’s The Spirit. (16 January 2009). I’m a Frank Miller fangirl.

Number 13
Tropic Thunder (15 August 2008). It’s a Ben Stiller comedy. I’m there.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Flying Monkey permalink
    26 Mar 2008 7:40 AM

    Hey what about Highschool Musical 3 Due out October 2009?

    Come visit my list, make sure you have your popcorn, and drink.

  2. azteclady permalink
    26 Mar 2008 7:55 AM

    Dark Knight–hell, yes.
    Indiana Jones–ditto
    X-Men–yep
    Iron Man–’cause I agree with you about R D jr.

    Everything else I’m rather tepid about ::sheepish::

  3. 26 Mar 2008 3:46 PM

    We should go to the movies together Ann. We have the same taste! Lol! I’m excited about these movies as well – although I’ll probably wait and Netflix them. We don’t have great movie theaters here in Denver.

  4. 26 Mar 2008 3:49 PM

    Wow! You anticipate long term, with some of those coming out next year! They all seem to be comic book stuff, so not really to my taste, but i admire your devotion to what you enjoy.

  5. 26 Mar 2008 3:57 PM

    The upcoming Indy is the one I will most likely go see. Good point about the CGI in “The Hulk” starring Eric Bana. When I saw the trailer a few years ago, I was like “WTF?”

  6. 26 Mar 2008 4:26 PM

    Oooh… I think I’ll be skipping most of these. The ones I’ll rent are the Indian Jones one, the pixar one and the Batman one. Happy TT.

  7. 26 Mar 2008 4:31 PM

    I’m with you on Indiana Jones!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  8. 26 Mar 2008 6:33 PM

    I love Ben Stiller! Glad he’s got a new one coming. God bless.

  9. gdaybloke permalink
    26 Mar 2008 7:07 PM

    (*applauds*)

    Lost Hemisphere’s Thursday Thirteen #8:
    Shattered Reflections of CCG’s Contest!

  10. 26 Mar 2008 8:40 PM

    Oh yes…Indiana Jones and I agree with you about Iron Man. I don’t know exactly WHAT it is about Robert Downey Jr….but I’d go see him in just about anything!
    Great TT!

  11. 26 Mar 2008 9:23 PM

    Oh ben Stiller is so cute in comedies

  12. 26 Mar 2008 11:26 PM

    I love movies, I can’t wait to see the Dark Knight either.

  13. 27 Mar 2008 12:39 AM

    I’m really looking forward to WALL-E and Dark Knight as well. I, too, was unsure about more Batman movies, but I just loved Batman Begins!

  14. 27 Mar 2008 1:47 AM

    You may be happy to know (I was!) that Katie Holmes isn’t in the next Batman – they replaced her with Maggie Gyllenhaall.

    Clone Wars, Indiana Jones, Wolverine, Iron Man – will probably be in the back of the theater on opening weekend 😉

  15. 27 Mar 2008 5:29 AM

    Nice list! I did not know about half of them were at making. I’m with you on almost everything. Although I am not crazy about #5, 12 & 13. Happy TT!

  16. 27 Mar 2008 6:40 AM

    #1 and #8 for sure. I must have watched the most recent Transformers release a million times already (but sequels never live up to the hype)!

  17. 27 Mar 2008 10:10 AM

    Flying Monkey – Uh…hmm…well… I didn’t know there were Highschool Musical 1 and 2. I’ll even go so far as to admit I don’t know what Highschool Musical is.

    azteclady – I might review some of the movies, so I might convert you.

    On a Limb with Claudia – Oh, poor you! But that’s the perfect excuse to get a 42″ HD LCD. (Yeah, I know there’s bigger out there, but I find it tiring to watch my parent’s 64″.)

    Nicholas – My buddies and I found out about the first Transformers a year and a half in advance and we couldn’t talk about anything else for nearly as long.

    Malcolm – Yeah, the CGI completely ruined the movie for me. Made me wish they’d made the entire movie animated.

    pussreboots – *sigh* I know I have the taste of a 13-year-old boy.

    SJ Reidhead – Harrison Ford is 65 and he’s still sexy. I know it’s the magic of Hollywood, but it doesn’t lessen the appeal. And there are so few trilogies that get better with each movie.

    SandyCarlson – It’s about a group of actors who are shooting a war movie and they’re forced to become real soldiers. It has Ben Stiller, Jack black, Robert Downey Jr… It should be awesome.

    gdaybloke – Thanks for stopping by!

    Lara – He’s also in Tropic Thunder so you can see him twice in 2008.

    marcia v – My fave is still Zoolander. I can pretty much quote the entire movie by now.

    Amanda – christian Bale totally revived the franchise.

    Michelle – You just made me realize I put the wrong movie title up above. I wrote Batman Returns instead of Batman Begins. *palm to forehead*

    Firefly Mom – Oh, thank God! I wonder if her evil overlord husband had anything to do with the decision.

    Ivanhoe – *gasp* No Hellboy? Actually, I noticed more women are into Hellboy than men.

    sd-b – Hehe. Good thing I’m not watching the movies for plot or character development.

  18. Chris permalink
    27 Mar 2008 10:51 AM

    Can hardly wait for the Wolverine movie. Happy TT!

  19. 27 Mar 2008 11:02 PM

    Now you got me anticipating too!
    Loved your TT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

