Skip to content

I’m not stupid. I’m Canadian.

28 Mar 2008

Since the global HQ for the Clark Kent job is in the United States, I deal with a lot of Americans. I like the guys I work with except when (1) they call my hometown “Little Houston” and (2) tell me I can’t spell.

Yes, I can spell. I just don’t always use American spelling. And, yes, there is a difference between spelling for Canadian English (which is very similar to British English) and American English. What are the differences? Well…

  • the extra a: anaesthesia
  • c instead of k: disc
  • c instead of s: defence, licence
  • e instead of a: grey
  • the extra o: oesophagus
  • ph instead of f: sulphur
  • que instead of ck: cheque
  • re instead of er: centre, theatre
  • s instead of z: analyse, cosy, realise
  • the extra u: colour, labour, neighbour

Please, next time you see centre instead of center, don’t assume the writer is stupid or can’t use the Spell Checker. She might be Canadian.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    28 Mar 2008 10:13 PM

    Or may have learned English at the British Council somewhere *coughVenezuelacough* and thus have a mix of spellings… Have a good weekend, Ann

  2. 29 Mar 2008 2:03 AM

    Cool! I used to have a Venezuelan roommate. She’s tall, skinny, tanned…if she didn’t have such a nice personality, I would’ve hated her.

  3. azteclady permalink
    29 Mar 2008 8:05 AM

    I only lived in Caracas for 4 years, but it was disgusting how many of the women I met there fit the Miss Universe stereotype. Particularly when you are short, darker, and *ahem* more voluptuous *ahem* than they are.

    Ugly ducking syndrome, without the swan in my future ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

