Skip to content

CONTEST: Spring Cleaning

1 Apr 2008

I’m bored with my official web site (not this blog). It’s spring (I’m ignoring the snow still outside my window) and I think it’s time for something new, but I don’t know what. My creativity has been consumed by writing. So help me out and let me know what you would like to see on the site (please, no requests for naked pictures; I don’t want to traumatize anyone). More content, different content, different color scheme, add a function, remove a feature…whatever. Make as many suggestions as you like. Tell me to change nothing.

The prize is a $10 Amazon gift certificate. Contest closes April 30, 2008 at 5 PM MST.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. limecello permalink
    1 Apr 2008 7:04 PM

    Personally, I like the color scheme, Ann – but maybe – and I have no idea how easy/difficult this is, but change the formatting? Everything seems so very narrow on your page, with all that negative/dead space on both sides.
    Otherwise, I’m all for simplicity. No bells and whistles and evil tool/sidebars that follow you as you scroll down and stutter, making your computer look like it’s seizing. I like the look of your page – and I’m pretty critical :D.

  2. bunnyb permalink
    2 Apr 2008 9:40 AM

    Hi Ann. I’m okay with your blog except that maybe you would like to have a well-designed header that’s catchy – makes people remember how cool the page looks 🙂

  3. 2 Apr 2008 6:22 PM

    I like your design Ann, but if you’re truly ready for a change, I found a really good and affordable web designer (and no, she’s not paying me nor do I get anything out of this). She’s at http://www.judithshakes.com You might want to check her out.

  4. 6 Apr 2008 10:19 AM

    I think you need a sexy photo, something more like the handcuff couple on Rules of Engagement, as your banner. Please not a naked man turned to one side with his golden, well-oiled thigh hiding his naughty bits. Anything but that.

    The cartoon chick reminds me of a lot of other sites. Does she illustrate your personality? If not, let her go.

  5. Jane permalink
    10 Apr 2008 7:01 PM

    I like the layout of having the news on the home page. The red decor is lovely, please don’t change that. I like the books page the best, especially the terse descriptions of each book. Love the tidbit about being a Pinky and The Brain fan. I’m a fan, too. Do you want to rule the world, like Brain?

  6. 11 Apr 2008 5:12 PM

    Actually, Jane, I do. And once I’m Mistress of the Universe, I plan to hold onto my power by following the The Top 100 Things I’d Do If I Ever Became An Evil Overlord list.

  7. Cherie J permalink
    14 Apr 2008 12:15 PM

    I love that red color, very sexy. To me red is romance that sizzles. I would like to see sexier graphics. Maybe one at the top of the home page showing a couple embracing. I don’t think nudes are necessary. Before Dawn has a sexy but tasteful cover. Something like that woud work.

  8. cathy m permalink
    15 Apr 2008 12:56 PM

    I like the info you have on your website, the great fun facts you share, and how your book excerpts and reviews are set up together. But maybe just have the overall graphics match the sexiness of your stories and covers. Nothing over the top just a bit more sensual.

  9. 18 Apr 2008 2:48 PM

    Looks good to me. Except maybe make the background a lighter color. I say this because when I visit an author’s site I look at the content, not the graphics or the other high-falutin thingamajigs.

Trackbacks

  1. Argh! « The Not-so-deep Thoughts
  2. April Contest Winner « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

