Skip to content

TT #15: Writers Do It Everywhere

2 Apr 2008

No, not that. I mean write.

Where I Write

Number 1
In the home office.

Number 2
In bed.

Number 3
On buses and trains.

Number 4
On the sofa…with the fireplace going and a warm blanket. Yeah, I usually end up napping.

Number 5
In my favorite leather slipper chair.

Number 6
In the mini-van when the dealership shuttles me to and from work.

Number 7
In the kitchen as I cook. You’d be amazed at how many words you can get while waiting for water to boil.

Number 8
In the work office with my door closed during lunch hours.

Number 9
During really long, really boring work meetings. It’s a great way to stay awake and it looks like I’m taking notes.

Number 10
While waiting at airports. When your flight gets delayed for 4 hours because of an overnight freeze, the notebook computer can be your best friend.

Number 11
On airplanes. You just have to be rude to the people who try to read over your shoulder. Personally, I still can’t write a sex scene while someone’s watching.

Number 12
In hotel rooms.

Number 13
While waiting in line at car washes.Β  When there’s a thaw, those line-ups can be pretty darn long.

 

31 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 Apr 2008 3:16 PM

    I read somewhere that Louis L’Amour said he could write even in the middle of the LA Freeway.

    My writing is done almost 100% at the dining room table. I’ve written two novels, two non-fiction, and innumerable articles from the same table. I’m so spoiled I don’t know how to write anywhere else.

    Forget doing it by hand. My handwriting is so bad I can’t read it!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  2. 2 Apr 2008 3:17 PM

    Oh,

    I forgot –

    CONGRATS!

    SJR

  3. 2 Apr 2008 3:21 PM

    SJ Reidhead – I’d do it on the walk to and from work if those damn crosswalks didn’t get in the way. Tried it once but the cars honking as I stopped in the middle of the streets kept pulling me from the story.

  4. 2 Apr 2008 3:33 PM

    I write in my study, and have written on planes and at airports. I also do a lot of writing in cafes.

  5. 2 Apr 2008 4:22 PM

    When I was writing my book – that’s ALL I did. I even wrote in the bathroom…(TMI)

    I also wrote in my sleep and sometimes found myself somehow waking myself up so I wouldn’t miss what I just wrote!

    Fun post. Bet lots of people thought you meant….THAT…

    Smiles,

    Holly
    http://theabundanceplace.com

  6. 2 Apr 2008 4:30 PM

    Congratulations on another publication, Ann!! whoo hoo!! I hope you have much success – so maybe you can quit that job with the boring meeting! πŸ˜‰

  7. 2 Apr 2008 4:54 PM

    Congratulations Ann! An amazing feat!! The excerpt is terrific! And I write everywhere too– and am totally spoiled by having a laptop which I’ve only had for about 6 months. I was doing everything long hand, then typing into my desktop— which made me go over and over and over stuff until I made myself crazy. The laptop is just heavenly — and it seems I can type faster than I can write and that really helps!!
    Congrats again — !

  8. 2 Apr 2008 5:05 PM

    I like to write, but I guess not that much. I do READ in all those places though!

  9. 2 Apr 2008 5:18 PM

    True. Wasn’t it Umberto Ecco who wished for plastic paper so he could do it in the shower?

    I do it when I walk. So writers can do two things at once. Very cool.

  10. 2 Apr 2008 6:12 PM

    I’m impressed that you can use your time so productively. Do you concentrate on a particular scene or dialogs?

  11. 2 Apr 2008 6:54 PM

    You are using your time wisely. Love you post!!

  12. 2 Apr 2008 7:18 PM

    great post.

  13. 2 Apr 2008 8:23 PM

    The airplane one made me laugh…I don’t think I could write anything with a stranger looking over my shoulder, sex scene or otherwise.

  14. 2 Apr 2008 8:31 PM

    I’ve been known to write important plot developments as I driveβ€”though I do make an effort to pull over whenever possible. Sometimes I just have to get it down on paper before I forget it.

  15. 2 Apr 2008 8:43 PM

    You write all the places I read. There’s a nice symmetry to that. Happy TT.

  16. 2 Apr 2008 8:48 PM

    I love the taking notes

  17. 2 Apr 2008 8:53 PM

    I write while waiting at doctors office and other appointments. If I somehow forget to take my notebook with me, there’s usually a book in my purse. πŸ˜‰ Cool list.

  18. 2 Apr 2008 9:49 PM

    Congrats on your new release. I wish you a ton of sales.
    I write mostly in longhand and then have to transfer it to the computer. For some reason my muse will only cooperate that way LOL
    Happy T13!

  19. 2 Apr 2008 10:31 PM

    You are so lucky to be able to write in all those places. I can’t write unless I’m on a computer. I’m kind of a geek like that. However, I can plot anywhere, and run dialogue in my head… the weird thing is that I remember it later and actually use it! Happy TT!

  20. 2 Apr 2008 11:01 PM

    I like my desk the best, but in a pinch I’ll write anywyere.

  21. 3 Apr 2008 1:40 AM

    I write just about anywhere as well. I hear you about writing love scenes with people peering over your shoulder. It’s hard to concentrate. Congratulations on your new release today.

  22. 3 Apr 2008 4:00 AM

    I’m impressed! I’m far too easily distracted to write in half of those places.

  23. 3 Apr 2008 4:56 AM

    Most of the time I write at my computer, but I carry a notebook with me and to jot notes and ideas. Kudos on your new release!

  24. 3 Apr 2008 6:10 AM

    Thanks for your visit i was tired yesterday but i got it almost all done

  25. 3 Apr 2008 7:09 AM

    Congratulations on your new book.
    My mind holds lots of my writings before I get to jot it down.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Maribeth

  26. 3 Apr 2008 8:44 AM

    What a great list! I do a lot of reading in the kitchen while the water is boiling…maybe I should start using that time for writing instead. πŸ˜‰

  27. 3 Apr 2008 10:55 AM

    So, it looks like I should expand my range a bit if I want to achieve some decent output. πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with book sales!

  28. Chris permalink
    3 Apr 2008 11:42 AM

    You sound so dedicated to write in all those places. Happy TT!

  29. 3 Apr 2008 4:47 PM

    Only selective responses today…

    Holly – I sometimes wake up at 2 in the morning and feel the urge to write, which is why I keep my notebook computer on my nightstand.

    On a Limb with Claudia – Thanks! The day job’s not so bad. It provides me with shiny toys. πŸ˜€

    Lara – I know the feeling! I take the notebook computer with me pretty much everywhere I go.

    SandyCarlson – Impressive. In public, breathing and walking are pretty much all I can manage.

    Lazy Daisy – If I’m writing in public, it’s because I have a scene that absolutely needs to be written at that very moment.

    Natalie – That’s why I give ’em the glaring of a lifetime. That usually makes them look away.

    Cordia Amant – I totally understand! I’ve been known to put down plot points on paper napkins.

    Adelle Laudan – I sometimes do the same. There are times when taking the time to pick up and pen and write out the words on paper helps me through a dilemma or dead-end.

    Winter – Ah, you need to get what I have: 12″ notebook computer that weighs less than 4 lbs! It’s my baby.

    Shelley Munro – Doesn’t it feel a little bit like voyeurism if someone’s watching?

    Darla – When you’re trying to meet a deadline, you’d be amazed where the words come to you.

    Karina – My notebook computer is on pretty much the entire time I’m home in case I need to put down a line or add a paragraph.

    Marina – Ah, I wouldn’t say my output’s that decent. Sometimes I’ll finish 10k words…and realize it’s crap that needs to be ruthlessly edited out.

    Chris – Not dedication; just a need to get those voices out of my head. I really do constantly have scenes and stories play out up there. That’s why I’m anti-social. I can keep myself entertained for hours.

  30. 3 Apr 2008 7:32 PM

    Congratulations on your new publication! I think of new things to write on my blog during my lunch break, or when one of the kids @ school says something silly…but not everything gets documented sadly!!! Happy TT πŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. TT #15: Writers Do It Everywhere

Leave a Reply

