Skip to content

PAN, SCHMAN

18 Apr 2008

If you think you’ve seen this before, you might’ve because I posted this on the Ladies of the Club blog on April 9, 2008.


So, I finally got around to applying for RWA PAN (Published Authors Network) status early April and received the congratulatory email a few days later. And I felt completely blah about it. Champagne didn’t fall from the heavens. Doors didn’t open. Velvet ropes didn’t part. (I have a thing for Nicolas Cage.) Why? I don’t see the tangible benefits of PAN. Seriously, what does the following statement mean:

The purpose of PAN is to establish within the RWA framework a network of communication and support to effectively promote and protect the interests of published romance authors; to open channels of communication between those romance authors and other publishing industry professionals; and to encourage professionalism on all levels and in all relationships within the publishing industry.

Very vague, isn’t it? And, um, shouldn’t RWA being doing this for ALL members?

The only thing I’ve heard about PAN is you get first pick at editors and agents at conferences. Unfortunately, I don’t attend conferences. My Clark Kent-job schedule is hectic and even though I have four weeks of vacation, I have to schedule them around monthly closes, quarterly closes, and plan time, which stretches from May to September. My local RWA chapter organizes a conference every two years, but I’ve been snubbed by these people. (I contacted them three times about joining and they never replied. Since their six published authors are NY-pubbed, they might not want an e-pubbed author in their midst.)

And…um…I think that’s the only benefit.

Oh, wait! I now get a link on the RWA Authors page. Woopee. Somehow, I don’t think that’s going to bring me the same amount of traffic as an ad on the Smart Bitches site.

Anyone care to correct me?

And, on the same day I posted this at the other blog, JA Konrath coincidentally posted his views on writing organizations and their relevance.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 22 Apr 2008 5:38 PM

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a bad experience with your local RWA chapter. I know you’re in Canada, are you anywhere near Toronto? We’d love to have you at TRW. We have many epubbed authors and we’re pretty friendly. 🙂

  2. 22 Apr 2008 6:10 PM

    Thanks for the offer, Laurie. Unfortunately, I’m four hours west of you…by air. 😦

  3. 27 Apr 2008 5:52 PM

    Maybe it was a mistake or oversight rather than a snub. I’ve emailed my local chapter via their website several times with no response, and I’m a board member! Don’t get me wrong, e-pubs and erotic romance get the shaft (ha) a lot. But speaking from my own experience, the regulars aren’t that impressed by print-published authors either. The only way to be accepted by this club is to do your time at the meetings.

  4. 29 Apr 2008 8:04 PM

    Jill, perhaps you’re right. On the bright side, I’m saving $75 per year.

Trackbacks

  1. The Secret Publishing Handshake « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

