Skip to content

CONTEST: Help a Reader Out

1 May 2008

Last week, I dropped two more names off my auto-buy list. One author went the way of women’s fiction (by the way, why isn’t there a men’s fiction genre?) and, for some inexplicable reason, that genre makes me cringe. The other author left the romance genre years ago, but I continued to buy her books because I LOVED her romances, even her early category titles–actually, ESPECIALLY her early category titles. However, after nineteen mainstream titles with abrasive characters I can’t root for, even I have to accept her writing’s no longer my cuppa. (No, it’s not Tami Hoag. I prefer her romantic suspense, but her mainstream suspense still kick-ass.)

Anyhoo, I realized my auto-buy list is pitifully short and I sorely want to lengthen it. Share your auto-buy authors. Make a recommendation. I read across all genres…except women’s fiction and chick lit.

A random commenter will win a $10 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift certificate. Contest closes May 31, 2008 at 5 PM MST.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    2 May 2008 6:08 AM

    Poor Ann!

    I don’t know that I can really help you, though, because my autobuy list is small and not terribly original. Suzanne Brockmann (it’s an addiction), Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb (ditto), Diana Gabaldon (and I’m loving the Lord John mysteries); I just became addicted to Ann Aguirre (Grimspace out now, Wanderlust coming out in September/October), Nalini Singh (PsyChangeling? oh man yes), Meljean Brook (Guardians… Michael!). Oh and for something irreverent and terribly funny, try Jackie Kessler’s Hell on Earth series–I just started and oh man, it’s fast paced and funny and intense and hot all at the same time. Hmmm… That’s all I have right now 😦

    See?

  2. azteclady permalink
    2 May 2008 6:09 AM

    (Please don’t enter me in the contest–I just won here in February)

  3. Jane permalink
    2 May 2008 12:08 PM

    My auto-buy authors are Shannon McKenna, Allison Brennan, Lisa Kleypas, Julie Garwood(historicals, I don’t love her romantic suspenses as much) and Julia Ross.

  4. limecello permalink
    3 May 2008 12:40 PM

    Hm, I don’t know if you have these people… but my autobuy list is Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and sorta Rachel Gibson and Shannon McKenna and Susan Lyons. That’s it – I know it’s short. In fact, I lied. But I have a lot of auto reads. Emilie Rose, Lisa Kleypas, Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Christina Dodd, Kresley Cole, Nalini Singh, Lora Leigh, Katherine Garbera, Susan Mallery, Lucy Monroe, Nancy Warren, Erin McCarthy, Lori Foster, Janelle Denison, Leanne Banks, Megan Hart, Yvonne Lindsey, and Diana Palmer. 😛 I think that hits the top of my list.

  5. 5 May 2008 6:38 PM

    @AZ

    I have Suzanne Brockmann on my tentative list. I didn’t listen to those who knew better and started off with All Through the Night, so I’m on the fence about her. But I have Force of Nature and Into the Storm waiting for me and we’ll see if they change my mind.

  6. 5 May 2008 10:53 PM

    I autobuy Julie Kenner, Janet Evanovich, Lauren Willig and but mostly I just autoread. I’ve become very cautious with my money lately. Plus, my mom works right by the library so we can get the newest releases immediately. I also wait for pb in all but some very rare cases – the YA author Tamora Pierce is one. (I would buy some others in hardcover except I already own the first several of the series in pb.)

  7. 5 May 2008 10:53 PM

    *Er, put the and before Lauren Willig.

  8. tasha t permalink
    25 May 2008 8:26 PM

    alssay day
    lynsay sands
    kerrilyn sparks

    im hooked on their series

  9. acdaisy77 permalink
    25 May 2008 10:40 PM

    I do not have an auto buy, but I have some authors I keep a list of or track. Here are some of them – Lori Foster, Sandra Brown, Maya Banks, Jennifer Crusie, Lucy Monroe, Sylvia Day, Christina Dodd, Jaci Burton, etc.

  10. cathy m permalink
    26 May 2008 11:30 AM

    I have a long list of auto buy authors. Some of my favorites:

    Janet Evanovic
    Lara Adrian
    Kim Harrison
    Lora Leigh
    Shelly Laurenston
    Sarah McCarty
    Rachel Wilks
    Charlaine Harris-Sookie Stackhouse series
    Karen Chance
    JD Robb
    Joey Hill
    Christine Feehan

  11. Little Lamb Lost permalink
    26 May 2008 5:59 PM

    Sarah McCarty
    Joey W. Hill
    Rachel Caine
    Karen Rose
    Kim Harrison
    Jordan Dane
    Sunny
    Elizabeth Peters
    Vicki Pettersson

  12. Cherie J permalink
    28 May 2008 12:10 PM

    Authors I highly recommend are:

    Christine Feehan
    Nalini Singh
    CL Wilson
    Robin D.Owens
    jaquelyn Frank

Trackbacks

  1. May Contest Winner « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

