Skip to content

Books I Won't Read

8 May 2008

Earlier this week, I told someone I’m not easily offended. I always believed this to be true. People mock my reading material, my philistine movie collection, my staid little car, my limited wardrobe, my personal appearance (I tell my boss he’s lucky I take that extra ten minutes each morning to put on makeup), my tendency to grocery shop in my mom’s pantry, and all of it rolls right off my back. These things don’t bother me in the least.

However, as I dwelt on my original statement, I realized there are a number of topics I’m familiar with and a wee bit passionate about and, when handled incorrectly, can make me lift a single brow and murmur, “Oh, really.” What this means is I avoid books that feature hockey, Canadians, geeks (mainly of the computer variety), martial arts (but only by authors who say they’re experts in Korean karate and thought Tom Cruise’s character was practicing karate in The Last Samurai), and French-speaking characters who don’t know the difference between sur and sรปr.

That’s not too long a list, right?ย  Do other readers have a do-not-read list?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 May 2008 1:07 PM

    Books about spoiled socialite heiresses with chihuahuas. Do not want!

  2. 8 May 2008 3:38 PM

    Jill – I wouldn’t mind a book about a spoiled socialite heiress with a chihuahua…if the heel of her Manolo snaps off, causing her to trip down the stairs and break her neck in the first chapter. Okay, the prologue.

  3. 8 May 2008 6:33 PM

    LOL. Now you’ve got me imagining the next chapter, with her as walking zombie. But I think I want the heel of her shoe to be imbedded in her neck…

  4. 8 May 2008 8:15 PM

    I was picturing an investigation into the death. There would be so many suspects the book would be of Diana Gabaldon proportions.

    But a walking zombie’s cooler. The heel embedded in the neck would give her a Frankenstein’s-monster-esque feel.

  5. 8 May 2008 8:48 PM

    Oh, and why would the death be suspicious? Signs of tampering with the heels.

    (Yes, I’m a sad, sad puppy.)

  6. azteclady permalink
    9 May 2008 4:41 AM

    But we love you nonetheless

    Now, go. Write. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

