Skip to content

:(

20 May 2008

I think the speaker wire in the right hinge of my laptop is severed from repeated opening and closing of the laptop. The embedded speakers no longer work; I have to use headphones or external speakers to get sound. *shaking my fist at Dell because it would happen just after the warranty expires*

I’d fix it myself, but I’m not too keen on using a soldering gun and a sander; I could pay someone else to do it, but I’d rather put the money towards a new system. Any suggestions? I’m very close to getting a MacBook, but the thought of having to replace all my software with Mac versions makes me whimper.

ETA: Going to make myself feel better by racking up expenses on the corporate Amex.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 May 2008 3:39 PM

    I’ve been thinking of making the same jump. The good thing about the current Macs is that they come with BootCamp, which lets you choose between operating systems. You can either boot up in Leopard or Win XP. If you want to run both at the same time, you just need to add Parallels, which will let you have a Win XP window open in the Mac OS. That way, you don’t have to replace any software.

    Can you tell I’ve been thinking about this a lot? 🙂

  2. 20 May 2008 9:08 PM

    Nothing wrong with thoroughly researching a product before plunking down a couple thousand dollars for it.

    I was thinking of having dual OSs on the Mac…but I’m wondering how that would affect performance.

Leave a Reply

