Skip to content

Breakthrough!

23 Jun 2008

I’ve been struggling with a novella for the last, oh, five months.  I have to do a measly 25k words, but everything I’ve written has been crap.  It makes no sense; I’ve done it already; it’s putting me to sleep while I type; even if my readers are high, they wouldn’t buy something this far-fetched; etc.  After discarding 90k words, I realized it was because I was trying to write a story I couldn’t connect with and wouldn’t read if it had been written by someone else.  Once I accepted I couldn’t write the story I thought I should write, there was peace and calmness…and, even better, I could see the story I want to write take shape.

Oh, happy days ahead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    23 Jun 2008 7:01 PM

    *sending good vibes*

    Now, go, write *shooing motions*

  2. Jane permalink
    24 Jun 2008 1:42 PM

    Woohoo, happy days are here.

Leave a Reply

