Skip to content

And It's Bad Because…?

28 Jun 2008

For the last few months, I’ve been inundated with news reports of record gas prices.  Many Americans are predicting $5/gallon very shortly (in Canada, I’ve been paying that much for some time now, so no sympathy from me).  Four dollars per gallon appears to be breaking point for many people, forcing them to find alternative means of transportation.

Now, I agree that gas prices are a little ridiculous, but to hear people complain about things like being forced to car pool, take public transit, bike, or–gasp!–walk when they need to get from point A to point B, I have to shake my head.  Doing those things are NOT negatives, folks!  As far as I’m concerned, these are the benefits of high gas prices.  Why?  Because if rising gas prices is what it takes to get North Americans (yes, I’m including Canada in my semi-rant) to reduce their carbon footprints (and perhaps shed some pounds while they’re at it), then I don’t mind paying extra at the pump.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 Jun 2008 7:31 PM

    Hello.

    I like your site and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links.

    Thanks in advance

  2. 29 Jun 2008 5:23 PM

    Unfortunately for us, public transportation is pretty much non-existent where I live, and DH works 45 miles away… so we are taking it in the shorts.

    If I could walk or ride my bike places, I would. But along with no public transportation, they’ve also done away with bike lanes and sidewalks.

    So, yeah… frustrating.

    Anyway — love your covers! Came via RTB, btw.

    🙂

  3. 29 Jun 2008 9:04 PM

    I live in San Diego, home of year-round sunshine, and walking is “not cool” here. Unless you’re on a treadmill in an indoor gym or at a park you drove to. My daughter’s preschool is only a few blocks from my house and I’m the ONLY parent who walks her kid to school. Most of the families live in different, more affluent neighborhoods (it’s a private school), but being the only one, I feel very out of place.

    And our favorite family activity? A walk. I know, I know, we’re so gauche.

  4. azteclady permalink
    30 Jun 2008 9:09 AM

    Florida here. Humidity off the charts, usual temps for the summer edging into the three digits. Bike riding with a trailer: perfect. Groceries, book store, bank, post office. It works and *I* work.

    (The video would be funnier to me if I couldn’t see so many of the people I know in it *sigh*)

  5. Jane permalink
    30 Jun 2008 2:14 PM

    Walking is a necessity in NY. At times it’s faster on foot than in a car or bus.

  6. 1 Jul 2008 12:15 AM

    Mysti – Welcome! No public transporation? No bike lanes? No sidewalks? Ouch! It’s understandable to keep using your vehicle if the infrastructure is lacking, but now’s time to petition your city council or other local government.

    Jill – Walking became cool to a few of the affluent people I know when their monthly gas bill hit $600.

    AZ – Eek! Sounds like Houston. I’m a strange one; I prefer my northern climes. The way I see it: when it gets cold, I can keep putting on layers; when it gets hot, I can only take so much off before I get arrested.

    Jane – One more reason why I love NY. Although, I’m still not a fan of the subway. I’m slightly claustrophobic.

  7. Ann Bruce permalink
    1 Jul 2008 2:17 AM

    Jill – I should add that the millionaires and billionaires I know are also some of the cheapest people I know. 🙂 Then again, they tell me they got rich for a reason.

Leave a Reply

