Skip to content

TT #23: The Calgary Stampede 15

9 Jul 2008

Heard of the Freshman 15?  Well, in Calgary there’s the Stampede 15.

Heart Attack on a Stick and Other Foods Found at the Calgary Stampede

Number 1
Deep-fried OREO

Number 2
Deep-fried Twinkie (Didn’t this kill Elvis?)

Number 3
Deep-fried Coke (I saw these at the Texas State Fair in Dallas two years ago and didn’t think it would catch on.  I underestimated the power of deep-frying.)

Number 4
Chocolate-covered, deep-fried cheesecake (The triple threat.)

Number 5
Fried dough (I prefer the mini-donuts.)

Number 6
Pizza on a stick (I don’t know how they made it happen.)

Number 7
Pork chop on a stick

Number 8
Turkey drumsticks (These things are the size of your head!  How can people eat so much meat?!?)

Number 9
Hot beef sundae (Eew!)

Number 10
Taco in a bag (I don’t know why they couldn’t use a normal taco shell.  Or maybe the bag’s for after you get off the roller coaster.)

Number 11
Bacon on a bun (Is this a BLT without the LT?)

Number 12
Frozen chocolate bananas

Number 13
Beignets (The ones I had in New Orleans were better.)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 Jul 2008 2:43 PM

    All of that food sounds revolting. Happy TT.

  2. 9 Jul 2008 3:08 PM

    Deep fried Twinkies? Bring ’em on!

  3. 9 Jul 2008 3:15 PM

    #3? Only in Texas, I guess! And ya-a #9…..EWWWW!

    My 13 is published, hope you can stop by sometime.

  4. 9 Jul 2008 3:21 PM

    Number 8 sounds delicious!

  5. 9 Jul 2008 3:35 PM

    Oh my! Some of those sound delicious, but I can just feel my arteries clogging from reading about them. LOL!!

    Here’s mine . . .

    http://3garnetsn2sapphires.blogspot.com/2008/07/thursday-thirteen-3rd-edition.html

  6. 9 Jul 2008 4:08 PM

    I might be able to handle the frozen chocolate bananas but the rest sounds awful.

  7. 9 Jul 2008 4:10 PM

    I’ll take the cheesecake… man, that sounds wonderful.

    And I’ll take a pizza on a stick, too. Just so I can dissect it, though, and figure out how they did it. I have theories! (yes, I’m a geek)

  8. 9 Jul 2008 4:45 PM

    Ok, I’m stick on the deep fried Coke! How can they possibely do it! It is liquid after all!

  9. 9 Jul 2008 4:54 PM

    Frozen chocolate banana sounds good. And I could go for a turkey drumstick. I get a bit cavegirl every now and again. But I probably wouldn’t finish it.

    We have the Del Mar Fair here and the food is similar. Why do we need pizza on a stick? And how do you eat a taco out of a bag? I can’t figure out the deep fried Coke, either.

  10. 9 Jul 2008 5:07 PM

    Jill – They take a cube of Coke-flavored batter and drop it in the oil.

  11. 9 Jul 2008 5:08 PM

    Oh yummy, yummy, yummy! Boy, I love all of that food. Mmmmmm!

    Happy TT

  12. 9 Jul 2008 6:14 PM

    Great list, my 33rd TT is up at 13 Muslim Greeting Cards – I noted the paucity of Islamic Greeting Cards at my local stationery store and so as a public service to Muslims in America, I offer the following 13 Shariah-Compliant Greeting Cards…

  13. 9 Jul 2008 7:25 PM

    Please pass the Tums!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  14. 9 Jul 2008 8:01 PM

    OKKKKKKKK, how do you fry Coke? That isnt logical?!? #12 is the ONLY thing I would eat from that list…they are yummy:)~ Happy TT.

  15. 9 Jul 2008 8:16 PM

    we had deep fried peach cobbler at out State Fair

  16. 9 Jul 2008 8:31 PM

    I just lost about 8 years off the end of my life reading this.

    Great 13!

  17. 9 Jul 2008 8:58 PM

    I like turkey drumsticks! I’ve had New Orleans Beignets, too, but none of those other things. Which is weird, because I live in the land of Fried Food…

    Happy TT!

  18. 9 Jul 2008 9:13 PM

    I’ll take a few of those tums. Yuck! I’d be sick for days. Hope you had fun, Happy T13!

  19. 9 Jul 2008 9:28 PM

    There is absolutely nothing on this list that I would not eat in two bites! Yum!

  20. 10 Jul 2008 12:01 AM

    Fried Oreo Sounds Nasty Yuck!kim

  21. 10 Jul 2008 8:53 AM

    I have loved chocolate-covered bananas ever since I first tasted one at Disneyland 35 years ago! All the rest of the deep-fried treats – no way! Well, maybe the pork chop on a stick if there’s a lime-marmalade dipping sauce to go with it!

  22. 10 Jul 2008 9:04 AM

    I am very interested to know how you deep fry Coke? I tried a “walking taco” several years ago and actually like it…

    Happy TT and great list!

  23. 10 Jul 2008 9:18 AM

    How on earth do you deep fry coke????? My stomach started hurting just reading this list…my guess is id have to down an entire box of prilosec to live through ingesting some of this stuff…yuck lol 😛

  24. 10 Jul 2008 10:54 AM

    A few of those don’t sound so bad but what in the heck is a Hot Beef Sundae lol…

  25. 10 Jul 2008 11:51 AM

    Sounds like if it’s fried or on a stick it’s popular. Great list, though it made my stomach hurt. Happy TT

  26. 11 Jul 2008 12:31 AM

    I forgot to add: my favorite is the Turkey Drumsticks at Disney World in Orlando.

Leave a Reply

