Skip to content

All for Peanuts

1 Sep 2008

Last week, I sat in on a meeting with a bunch of senior execs, including a VP. I’m the only person without a Y-chromosone at the table and I’m also the youngest. The man across from me–let’s call him Les–was speaking. He was pointing his finger and shaking it the entire time, subconsciously blaming the people on my side of the table for whatever snafu he was complaining about. When he finished, my boss turned to me, one eyebrow slightly raised, silently asking, “Do you want to take this?”

I kind of shrugged, looked at Les, and went into the explanation. When I finished, there was dead silence in the room. Les was staring at my hand and the finger I had pointed at him, then at his pointed back at me. I surreptitiously glanced around the room; everyone else was imitating Les. I tensed, going uh oh in my head. There was a cough. Les, whose office is on the same floor as the CEO’s, sat back, face flushed, and tucked his hands under the table and out of sight. Beside me, my boss cleared his throat, began speaking, and the meeting continued.

Afterwards, as my boss and I rode the elevator down, I made a pained expression and said, “I know I shouldn’t have done that. But I didn’t know I was going to do it until I did it.”

He smiled, then chuckled. “Les does that a lot and many people have wanted to call him on it.”

“But they didn’t and that’s why they still have careers.”

“It’s okay. We can’t find anyone else willing to work your hours.”

“You mean you can’t find anyone else willing to work my hours for the peanuts I make.”

“You make at least roasted peanuts,” he countered. “Next year, they might even be salted.”

Yes, I can be bought.  I’m even willing to work on stat holidays, like I did today, for the right price.  It’s all about freedom forty-five.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    1 Sep 2008 4:38 PM

    Roasted and salted peanuts?

    How can anyone complain?

    *running for my life*

  2. 1 Sep 2008 4:46 PM

    AZ – One of my co-workers and I came up with a whole salary band system based on nuts (I know peanuts are legumes, but let’s not go there). It goes from peanuts to roasted peanuts to salted peanuts to cashews to peanut butter to almonds to almond butter to so on and so forth until you the reach the pinnacle of pistachio ice cream.

    Yeah, we know we’re nuts.

  3. azteclady permalink
    1 Sep 2008 5:16 PM

    (I don’t like peanuts and I don’t like pistachios, but I’ll kill you for some hazelnut…)

    *ahem*

  4. Jane permalink
    2 Sep 2008 1:46 PM

    Where do macadamia nuts fit in this scale?

  5. 3 Sep 2008 7:22 PM

    My peanuts are still in the shell.

  6. 4 Sep 2008 6:34 PM

    Jane – Somewhere between almonds and pistachio.

    Winter – lol That’s what my co-worker says.

Leave a Reply

