Skip to content

Managing Expectations

8 Sep 2008

There are plenty of jokes about men and women letting themselves go after the trek down the aisle. Or how men are horrified the first time the makeup comes off. Well, I have a lazy different philosophy: keep the expectations low from the start so when you go glam, he’ll appreciate it so much more.  And there are no unwanted surprises later on.

Why am I bringing this up?

Well, I had a black-tie business function last weekend. I’m not keen on these things because I’m required to actually put effort into my appearance and I really hate shelling out $30 the next day to dry-clean my dress.  The significant other came to pick me up, did a lot of “Wow, you looking amazing!”, and drove us to the event.  There, a few guys from the office saw me and did double takes.  (Guys are so easy to please; makeup, a dress, hair down, and their jaws drop.)  The SO leaned down, put his mouth next to my ear, and said, “Just remember I love you in jeans and a hoodie, too.”

And that’s why we get along so well.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 Sep 2008 7:11 AM

    My SO likes to remind me that it doesn’t matter how many men look at my cleavage… it’s all his no matter what it’s wrapped in.

  2. azteclady permalink
    8 Sep 2008 7:55 AM

    Ann, it’s not lazy, it’s smart–no false advertisement, as it were.

    Winter, that made me snort!

  3. Jane permalink
    8 Sep 2008 1:10 PM

    A lot of men claim to love women who are low maintenance.

  4. 8 Sep 2008 4:45 PM

    Winter – *snort* No cleavage here, which means no bras necessary because I don’t need the support…and that occasionally drives the SO a little nuts. (I think tank tops are perfectly acceptable in public!)

    AZ – A friend of mine was sitting in a restaurant with her mom. A man at the next table kept staring at her chest to the point her mom was ready to smack him with a dinner roll. My friend rolled her eyes, reached into her shirt, pulled out a jelly-like fake boob, and tossed it at him, yelling, “You can have it!”

    Jane – And there are those who actually mean it. Those are the keepers. Of course, if the SO ever stops working out, we might have words. If I have to maintain a six-pack, so does he.

  5. azteclady permalink
    8 Sep 2008 5:20 PM

    If I have to maintain a six-pack, so does he.

    Hear, hear!!

  6. Kimmy L permalink
    9 Sep 2008 11:12 AM

    That’s so cute. Keep him.

Leave a Reply

