Skip to content

TT #26: Pet Names Gone Wrong

10 Sep 2008

Pet Names Gone Wrong or How to Make Me Gag

Female romance writers came up with these pet names!  For the love of all things shiny, why?!?

Number 1
Sweet warrior (Guess the author.  I dare you.)

Number 2
Magic lady (The above author came up with this one, too.)

Number 3
Golden goddess (And this one.)

Number 4
Tabby cat (And this one.  Surprisingly, this book wasn’t a shifter romance.)

Number 5
Heart’s desire

Number 6
Loveling

Number 7
Precious (After LotR, how can anyone use this?!?)

Number 8
Dumpling (This one just makes me want to order Chinese.)

Number 9
Number One (I’m having Star Trek: TNG flashbacks.  Who knew Picard and Riker swung that way?)

Number 10
Daddy (I find this one very, very disturbing.)

Number 11
Beautiful flower

Number 12
Lothario (At least it wasn’t Fabio.)

Number 13
My enchantment

I know, I know.  I don’t have a romantic bone in my body.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    11 Sep 2008 1:41 PM

    You do, they are just shaped funny.

    😛

  2. 11 Sep 2008 5:17 PM

    I must not have much of a romantic bone either. Most of those are just plain silly…. I’d laugh if someone called me any of them — especially Precious!

  3. Ann Bruce permalink
    11 Sep 2008 9:55 PM

    AZ – And it’s lodged in my throat most of the time.

  4. 14 Sep 2008 9:07 PM

    My friend and fellow writer at The Bar has a character who used to have a mate who was a witch. Whenever he called her his “witchling” I cringed. The worst one I came up with was for a character who is of Greek ancestry who calls his mate “anasa mou”, my breath. I’m not good with the pet names thing…

  5. 14 Sep 2008 9:16 PM

    I guess that’s why the phrase “crazy in love” is so popular. Oh, wait. Was that a Beyonce song?

  6. 17 Sep 2008 4:36 PM

    The funniest one I ever heard was, Petunia Doodle…. LOL Fun list!

  7. 17 Sep 2008 4:49 PM

    Oh my gosh, this is just too funny. Why would anyone want to be called dumpling. Yuck! Great idea for a TT. I really enjoyed reading it.

  8. 17 Sep 2008 5:02 PM

    So, let me get this right, people used these names for their pets? Better than Spot or Rover, I suppose.

  9. 17 Sep 2008 5:47 PM

    I dont think that I or my pets are smart enough to have such names! haha Fun list.

  10. 17 Sep 2008 6:01 PM

    Wow – where did you find this list!? ahahahahahaha

  11. 17 Sep 2008 6:03 PM

    At least Lothario’s historically accurate…
    T13 #29 The redheads of VS

  12. 17 Sep 2008 6:56 PM

    I never did get the whole “Who’s your Daddy” thing…great list. Happy TT:)

  13. Ann Bruce permalink
    17 Sep 2008 7:37 PM

    No, no. These are names people call their significant others. Adults are calling other adults these names!

    And where did they come from? Well, books, my friends (although, I’ll have to rethink some of them)…

  14. 17 Sep 2008 9:14 PM

    Loveling is Johanna Lindsey!!!

    I don’t know the others.

  15. Ann Bruce permalink
    17 Sep 2008 9:23 PM

    Journeywoman – Congrats! Most of the others came from an author famous enough to be known by her three initials…starting with J.

  16. 18 Sep 2008 6:56 AM

    You’re right–these are terrible! I’ve seen “tabby cat” and other variations on the theme used far too frequently. Personally, I’d be offended if my husband called me that.

    Which reminds me of a block party when my husband and I were still newlyweds. I’m not sure how the subject came up, but one older man said he called his wife “Hangebauchschwein”–“pot-bellied pig”. Doesn’t everyone?

  17. 18 Sep 2008 7:54 AM

    Yep, those are strange.

  18. 18 Sep 2008 10:18 AM

    LOL! That was sure a strange but interesting list and no, I cannot guess number 1!

    My TT this is week is about the 13 Myths of Sarah Palin

  19. 18 Sep 2008 5:05 PM

    I must be boring and unromantic too – can’t go past Love and Babe. Haha. Great TT! 🙂

  20. 18 Sep 2008 5:40 PM

    #9 made me laugh out loud, #10 scared me (don’t want that serial killer for a neighbor!). I’m sorry those are just too “sweet” for me – I named my Yorkipoo Pixel – she was so little when I got her and I do digital art! Hey, it’s better than Precious!

    I did my TT before I ate breakfast so I was hungry when I posted Links to 13 of my favorite Tiny Food Recipes and free recipe cards – Tiny Food is my name for appetizers and finger foods!

    Happy TT!

  21. 2 Oct 2008 3:21 PM

    Thank you for constantly updated, always a pleasure to read.

  22. 13 Nov 2008 9:45 AM

    oh i geddit now! pet names not pet (dog and cat names)
    some of these are downright disturbing, i think. ewwwww!
    happy tt!

Trackbacks

  1. I shouldn’t know this much about you. | befittinglyblunt

Leave a Reply

