Skip to content

Seriously?!?

15 Sep 2008
tags:

I thought long and hard about discussing the next topic on my blog, but it’s my blog and ranting relieves stress.

On one of my author loops, a woman–let’s call her Deidre–posted about an upcoming web site that will allow customers to rate e-books.  Excitedly, she suggested that all the authors on the loop open an account when the new web site gets up and running and give everyone else’s books five-star ratings.

I.  Kid.  You.  Not.

After picking up my jaw, I replied to the loop and said her suggestion was tantamount to false advertising.  (Yes, I actually managed to restrain myself.)  And really, what author would feel good about fake ratings?!?  (Okay, besides DAM.)  Only one other person backed me up.  And the original author, she went off and pouted.

Now, had it stopped at the pouting, I would’ve forgotten about it.  However, Deidre has two friends on this loop who, deciding I was a big meanie, e-mailed me privately and said I’m obviously a bitter old hag and jealous of Deidre because she has more books out than I do.

Are you effin’ kidding me?!?

First of all, I’m twenty-eight.  Sure, I sometimes feel like I was born ancient, but I don’t think twenty-eight technically qualifies me as old, especially since their MySpace pages say they both have several years on me.  Secondly, I don’t keep score when it comes to writing because, frankly, it’s not my primary source of income.  I write because I love it (most days) and it keeps me sane.  So, unless you’re JKR, you don’t have anything I would covet, especially not a backlist.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    15 Sep 2008 8:05 AM

    It happens all the time, and I’m usually speechless when I witness it.

    Example, in a readers board: “Author so-and-so’s son has an entry in so-and-so competition; she needs her loyal readers to vote for him! here’s the link” … and three hundred people who have NEVER heard of the kid or his music, let alone whatever music he’s up against, go vote for his entry.

    God forbid anyone opens her mouth and says something along the lines of, “huh? how’s that fair to all the people who don’t have famous mothers pushing their entries?”

  2. 15 Sep 2008 11:33 AM

    That is the worst idea ever.

  3. 15 Sep 2008 6:07 PM

    Ho-ly sheeet. Some people have all the arrogance in the world. I wonder what they’d call me since I have almost 20 yrs on you. LOL

  4. 18 Sep 2008 10:40 AM

    Wow. I’m really sorry.

  5. Kimmy L permalink
    20 Sep 2008 8:11 AM

    I agree with you Ann. Alot of authors put alot of hard work in their books and want to know the truth about how their books rated. But of course you have some that just do not care. I say you go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

