Skip to content

TT #30: Halloween Tidbits

29 Oct 2008
tags:
Thursday Thirteen

Halloween Tidbits

Number 1
Jack o’ lanterns originated in Ireland where people placed candles in hollowed-out turnips to keep away spirits and ghosts on the Samhain holiday.

Number 2
Pumpkins also come in white, blue, and green.

Number 3
Halloween was brought to North America by immigrants from Europe who would celebrate the harvest around a bonfire, share ghost stories, sing, dance, and tell fortunes.

Number 4
Tootsie Rolls were the first wrapped penny candy in America.

Number 5
The ancient Celts thought that spirits and ghosts roamed the countryside on Halloween night. They began wearing masks and costumes to avoid being recognized as humans.

Number 6
Halloween candy sales average about two billion dollars annually in the United States.

Number 7
Chocolate candy bars top the list as the most popular candy for trick-or-treaters with Snickers being #1.

Number 8
Halloween the the second most commercially successful holiday. Guess which is first?

Number 9
Bobbing for apples is thought to have originated from the Roman harvest festival that honours Pamona, the goddess of fruit trees.

Number 10
Black cats were once believed to be witches’ familiars who protected their powers.

Number 11
Worldwide, bats are vital natural enemies of night-flying insects. And the ones that can tranform into humans are mates of many a heroine in Romancelandia.

Number 12
The Ouija Board ended up outselling the game of Monopoly in its first full year at Salem. Over two million copies of the Ouija Board were shipped…and over two million girls found out who they would marry when they grow up.

Number 13
Orange and black became Halloween colors because orange is associated with harvests and black is associated with death.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 Oct 2008 7:02 AM

    Coolness! Me loves me Tootsies and pumpkins. Well, I love Halloween. It’s uh sorta special in my house. πŸ˜‰

  2. 29 Oct 2008 3:13 PM

    Halloween is my favorite time of year!!!

    My 13 is all Halloween Humor…won’t you stop by for a laugh or two?

  3. 29 Oct 2008 3:39 PM

    Tootsie rolls are one of my favorite candies!

    Happy tt!

  4. 29 Oct 2008 3:46 PM

    I always learn so much from you! Thanks for all of this. What fun facts to add into a book or story!

  5. 29 Oct 2008 3:56 PM

    What a fun and interesting TT. I had no idea that pumpkins come in white, blue and green. Thanks for sharing.

  6. 29 Oct 2008 4:06 PM

    Very cool tidbits. I’ve never heard of blue pumpkins before, seems kind of strange. lol

    Happy TT!

  7. 29 Oct 2008 5:16 PM

    One day I’ll have to try the candle-in-a turnip idea!

  8. 29 Oct 2008 5:19 PM

    Well, this was a great Halloween trivia post! I like the idea of blue, white and green pumpkins! They’d make good serving bowls at a Halloween buffet when hollowed out!

    I’m into the Halloween spirit too – I posted: My 13 Favorite Halloween Trick or Treat Candies from Days Past and gave a few Trick or Treat tips to the adults out there!

    Happy TT and Happy Halloween!

  9. 29 Oct 2008 5:37 PM

    I did Halloween facts as well. Seemed like something easy to do this week. πŸ˜€ Hope you’ll come over and visit after midnight EDT. http://www.ninapierce.com/romanceblog

  10. 29 Oct 2008 5:53 PM

    I thought #4 was the most interesting. I never knew that.

  11. 29 Oct 2008 6:31 PM

    Very interesting. I’ve never seen a blue pumpkin. Happy Halloween!

  12. 29 Oct 2008 7:42 PM

    wow! Thanks for the trivia!

  13. 29 Oct 2008 7:55 PM

    Happy TT!

    I never knew there was a blue pumpkin. I wonder where one could find them.

  14. 29 Oct 2008 8:16 PM

    Very interesting. Happy Halloween and Happy TT!

  15. 29 Oct 2008 8:55 PM

    Trick or Treat!
    Thanks for thirteen treats!
    These were fun facts. πŸ™‚

  16. 29 Oct 2008 9:22 PM

    I didn’t know pumpkins came in different colors. Thanks for teaching me something new. Happy Halloween.

  17. 30 Oct 2008 4:34 AM

    nice trivia, love tootsie rolls. Happy TT! mine is up too. πŸ™‚

  18. 30 Oct 2008 5:42 AM

    The facts and fiction were fun to read they seemed to get more fictional as you went on

  19. 30 Oct 2008 6:54 AM

    Interesting list…I agree with the Snickers being no. 1.

  20. 30 Oct 2008 7:07 AM

    Very interesting TT! I’ve seen white pumpkins but not blue or green.

  21. 30 Oct 2008 7:08 AM

    Remember the crazy 8 fortune ball? I want a Reeses Cup!

  22. 30 Oct 2008 7:41 AM

    Interesting facts. Gotta get me a blue pumpkin next year. I’ve never seen one

  23. 30 Oct 2008 12:20 PM

    Great list of interesting trivia! Happy TT.

  24. 30 Oct 2008 12:48 PM

    I miss tootsie rolls!
    I’d love to see a blue pumpkin – hey I remember, that’s a software’s name too. I never thought there really were blue pumpkins. Hehe. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for a great TT.

  25. 30 Oct 2008 1:07 PM

    Fun Thursday Thirteen! Mine’s Halloween-themed, too: 13 Places with Halloween Names

  26. 30 Oct 2008 8:06 PM

    Wow! These are very interesting and fun bits of trivia. I have a white pumpkin, but I have never seen a blue one.

    Happy Halloween!

  27. 31 Oct 2008 9:35 AM

    Fun trivia, thanks for the grin

    Happy TT

    http://moondancerdrake.livejournal.com/85659.html

Leave a Reply

