Skip to content

The Not-so-hypothetical Dilemma

10 Nov 2008

One final thing before my week-long hiatus:

I have a friend completed book that’s ready for publication, but it’s a little out of character for me.  If I submit it to my current editor, she’ll probably accept it for publication and I’ll make a nice little (stress the “little”) chunk of change.  However, I’m iffy about attaching my name to a manuscript with (1) a Big Mis, (2) a not-quite-over-the-top alpha hero, and (3) a minor suspense plot anyone with a double digit IQ can solve.

My advance readers (all two of ’em who managed to pry the manuscript from my clutches) really enjoyed it, but they agreed it isn’t something they expected from me.

I must ponder this some more while I’m wining and dining people on the company’s tab.

ETA: I wrote the above 50+k story in six months…and the current 25k novella has been a WIP for over ONE YEAR!!!  Maybe I’m trying too hard with the novella.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    11 Nov 2008 10:20 AM

    Well… *putting on innocent face* You know that if you ever need another set of eyes to help you decide, I’m very very extremely completely and utterly willing to read it for you.

    I mean, it’s a tough job, but I’m all selfless and stuff, and willing to endure it for you.

    Keep it in mind, okay?

    😀

  2. 11 Nov 2008 7:22 PM

    Nothing wrong with a Big Mis. Done well, it’s a great plot device. I use it with pride! And I prefer alpha males who aren’t over the top.

    About the suspense plot, I think it’s difficult to judge yourself. After all, YOU know who did it. I often think I’m hitting the reader over the head with a certain theme or hint, and my editor…doesn’t.

    Let me ask this: You submit a new manuscript assuming it will be pubbed as is? I’ve never had this experience.

  3. 12 Nov 2008 5:21 PM

    I’d be happy to take a look – so don’t hesitate. I have learned to just let my fiction go – let it breathe. Writing a serial fiction (DenverCereal.com) has been an amazing experience in this.

    At the same time, I strongly encourage you follow your gut – books are worlds YOU create.

    What ever you choose will be right.

  4. Ann Bruce permalink
    13 Nov 2008 9:53 PM

    @AZ – Your generosity knows no bounds. 😉

    @Jill – Did I mention I also tossed in a secret baby? (Obviously, I’m not the greatest at promoting my own work, eh? I’ve been slapped before by my editor for that failing.)

    As for your question… Well, my last three manuscripts were pretty much published as I submitted them. (I’m a pretty vicious self-editor; my manuscript pages look like they’re bleeding by the time I’m done editing.) My EC editor made about a dozen comments on the last manuscript, and half of them were along the lines of “*snort*”. She and I really click, and I thank the stars for it. 😀

    @Claudia – Thanks! Right now, though, my gut is telling me to go lie down because dinner was a very long affair and I’m ready to go into a food coma.

  5. 14 Nov 2008 9:38 AM

    Secret baby! Haha. I’ve read some great secret baby books.

    You know, I think we have to take reader preferences with a grain of salt. If we gave them everything they asked for (beta males, heroines who never make mistakes, fat bald guys), they’d probably hate it…

Leave a Reply

