Skip to content

The Turducken or Poultry Overload

21 Nov 2008

If you’re in the US and scrambling for last-minute Thanksgiving ideas, try this one: a deboned chicken stuffed inside a deboned duck stuffed inside a deboned turkey, in between layers of andouille sausage, corn bread, and regular stuffing.

That’s the turducken, folks.

Yes, I didn’t believe it either when a co-worker described it to me yesterday, adding the turducken is ten times the goodness of bacon-wrapped scallops or bacon-wrapped anything.ย  At which point, another co-worker suggested wrapping the turducken in bacon.ย  That’s a whole lotta bacon.

Despite my apprehension, I agreed to stop by next time he makes a turducken so I can personally witness–and taste–this culinary wonder in exchange for some mashed sweet potatoes.

Oh, and happy Turkey Day to the folks south of the 49th!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    21 Nov 2008 12:05 PM

    That’s a helluva lot of poultry!

    I’ve known of their existence and haven’t been tempted… but then, I don’t like cooking ๐Ÿ˜€ so I’ll leave it for those who do. Then I’ll just mooch off ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Jane permalink
    21 Nov 2008 1:45 PM

    I’ve been wanting to try the turducken for the last couple of years, but nobody else is interested. It’s pretty expensive. I think it costs about $80.

  3. Ann Bruce permalink
    22 Nov 2008 12:16 AM

    @Jane – But you’d probably have enough leftovers for a month.

  4. 24 Nov 2008 9:10 PM

    No mixed meats for me, thanks! Duck + sausage = heart attack. Or stomach ache. Maybe just food coma?

    I like turkey all by itself…

Trackbacks

  1. The Not-so-deep Thoughts » TT #37: How to Save Money - The Kitchen Edition

Leave a Reply

