Skip to content

November Contest Winner

1 Dec 2008
tags:

So, total word count for November was a disappointing 23k.  (Yeah, I suck.)  I have about 10k in my “discard” file, but I’m not adding that number to the total.  So, the winner is AztecLady!

Your options are (A) a $15 Amazon GC, (B) a download of one my books, or (C) another box of books because I just did a micro-purge of my bookshelves.

And please email ann @ annbruce.net with your choice.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 Dec 2008 7:06 PM

    Oh, balls. I wanted to win this one. My word count this month was even less than that (20,000), and I was really trying to kick ass.

    Quality over quantity and all that.

    I also save what I discard, but only if I think I can use it later in the book. I usually end up with 20 or 30 pages of cuts.

    My contracts are for 100,000 words, by the way. At that length, there’s no way I can crank out four or five books a year. I feel as though I’m less productive than “most” authors, and you’d better believe it rankles…

    I think we all feel this pressure.

  2. 1 Dec 2008 7:26 PM

    Jill – There are very, very few authors who can crank out four or five full-length novels a year and not have their books slide in quality. I’m a reader who’s willing to wait if my auto-buy authors are slow writers because I know the end product will be worth it.

    I know writing is a business, but you can tell when someone is writing because they HAVE to versus because they WANT to.

    BTW, 20 or 30 pages of cuts is pretty good. I’ll sometimes go into the 100+ range.

  3. azteclady permalink
    1 Dec 2008 8:26 PM

    Now I feel really really rotten…

    😦 sorry, Ann (and you soooooooo don’t suck!)

  4. 2 Dec 2008 8:06 AM

    (and you soooooooo don’t suck!)

    I know. I have a pretty healthy ego. 😀

  5. Jane permalink
    2 Dec 2008 3:28 PM

    Congrats, Azteclady.

Leave a Reply

