Skip to content

TT #33: My Holiday Programming

3 Dec 2008
tags:
Thursday Thirteen

My Holiday Programming

Number 1
Die Hard (1988). Guns, explosions, wise cracks, and Alan Rickman.  What more could a girl want?

Number 2
Die Hard 2: Die Harder (1990).  Loved this one, too, but not as much as the original.  And I wasn’t surprised by the “twist” since the whole red tape-blue tape thing was pretty obvious.

Number 3
Blackadder’s Christmas Carol (1988).  The nicest man in Victorian England learns the true potential of greed and selfishness.  I know I’m twisted.

Number 4
A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965).  I do love that little tree.

Number 5
How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966).  Boris Karloff is so much better than Jim Carrey.

Number 6
The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992).  I really only watch it for Animal.  There’s just something about drummers.

Number 7
A Garfield Christmas (1987).  Garfield has his moments.

Number 8
Elf (2003).  A family-rated Will Ferrell movie.  That’s a Christmas miracle in itself.

Number 9
Bad Santa (2003).  They had me at the title.

Number 10
Scrooged (1988).  Ah, back when Bill Murray was still funny.

Number 11
The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993).  Original plot, original characters, stunning execution.  What I wouldn’t give to spend a day with Tim Burton.

Number 12
“A Pinky and the Brain Christmas” (1995).  Ah, Brain does have a heart after all.  (But I’m still a little irked because he was SO close to taking over the world!)

Number 13
Justice League‘s “Comfort and Joy” (2003).  The Ultra-Humanite and Flash storyline is the most sentimental, but just adore it.  It’s ironic, but this animated show is great at creating villains who are NOT cartoonishly evil.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 Dec 2008 4:32 PM

    You had me with the Die Hards and Blackaddler, but I’m not into Christmas movies. They are just too sweet, and I’m too nasty for them! I don’t even think I have a favorite Christmas film other than The Man Who Came to Dinner.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo
    http://www.thepinkflamingoblog.com/the-pink-flamingos-91st-edition-thursday-thirteen/

  2. 3 Dec 2008 4:47 PM

    I ADORE Blackadder 🙂 The Christmas Special is required viewing every year at our house 🙂 Great list!

  3. 3 Dec 2008 4:55 PM

    I adore your Justice League addition, check my TT for more superhero action.

    And I have one suggestion: Love Actually.

    Best Christmas film ever.

  4. 3 Dec 2008 5:47 PM

    What? No, “A Christmas Story?” That is my all-time favorite. Although, “Elf” is getting up there. Love that movie.

    Oh, if you visit my site, you have to go to it other than firefox. I do not know why it tells you it is “dangerous,” but for some reason it does. 😦

    http://www.chelleyoung.com/index.php/archive/thursday-thriteen-121-thirteen-reasons-why-i-have-not-done-a-tt-since-september/

  5. jeannie permalink
    3 Dec 2008 6:45 PM

    Ok, out of all them
    #4 would have to be my fave.
    Great list btw
    Happy T13

  6. 3 Dec 2008 6:54 PM

    I like most of these, but I love some of the old Christmas classics too. Happy T13!

  7. 3 Dec 2008 7:14 PM

    i’ve seen the charlie brown last week. I ant to watch Garfield,Muppets and Elf.

  8. 3 Dec 2008 8:34 PM

    I love your list! We just watched Elf last night, and watch the Muppets at least once every Christmas. 🙂 Happy TT!

  9. 3 Dec 2008 9:01 PM

    I just saw Elf last week for the first time…It was cute. My favorite Christmas movie is Love Actually…but I love me some Die Hard!

  10. 3 Dec 2008 9:15 PM

    Yep, Ive seen a few of those:) Happy TT. Great list.

  11. 3 Dec 2008 9:36 PM

    I’m with you on 4, 5, 6, and 10. I’m more partial to the old classics, but have to say my absolute fave is “A Christmas Story.”

  12. 3 Dec 2008 10:38 PM

    We did a poll at the school I work at and 8 Crazy Nights and Elf were the two winners for this year! I am a Die Hard fan as well!

  13. 4 Dec 2008 12:23 PM

    I would enjoy watching #’s 1,2,4,6,8, & 11.

    Elf has been on a lot this year on cable. Still love it no matter how many times i see it.

  14. 4 Dec 2008 12:32 PM

    I love Scrooged, I must have seen it 10 times at least. I’ll have to look for the Pinky & the Brain Christmas – loved that cartoon. Happy TT

  15. 4 Dec 2008 1:18 PM

    #5 is my personal favorite – the original cartoon – not the Hollywoodized movie.

  16. 4 Dec 2008 5:57 PM

    I really wanted Brain to take over the world too. *pout*

    I watch Elf all year round. It’s too good of a movie to pass up.

    I’m ready for happyfuntime Christmas movies!

Leave a Reply

