Skip to content

Is It Weird?

29 Dec 2008

I very, very rarely buy used books because…well, I don’t like used things.  I don’t know where they’ve been; I don’t know where the hands of the people who’ve touched the books have been; and I imagine very few people protect the books when they cough or sneeze.  (Yes, I’m slightly germophobic, but nowhere near Howard Hughes’ level.)  So, I’ll go so far as to harass a publisher to reprint a book before buying it used.

I, however, still use the public library.  I rarely sign out paperbacks, but I’m usually one of the first people on waiting lists for hardcovers.  If I do pick up a paperback, I make sure it’s a newer one where the spine has yet to be creased.  People who know me are surprised I use the public library…until I admit I wipe down the books with hand sanitizer before I put them in my backpack.  Am I the only one?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    30 Dec 2008 8:37 AM

    I’m sure you are not the only one but… 😀 I’m not one of you guys.

  2. 30 Dec 2008 10:02 AM

    How long do germs stay alive on a surface like that? Hmm…

    I check out hardbacks from the library also, and often read while keeping an eye on the kids. Lots of interruptions to wipe their noses etc.

    By all means, sanitize those suckers. : )

  3. 30 Dec 2008 10:27 AM

    @Jill Sorenson: Gee, stoke my germophobia, why don’t you!

    Of course, my biggest eww for this time of year is when they whip out the Blood of Christ for communion at midnight mass. An entire congregation drinking out of ONE cup? One word: backwash!

  4. 30 Dec 2008 2:59 PM

    LOL, that’s blasphemous, Ann. Backwashing the blood of Christ!

    I, for one, don’t even believe in backwash. Who are these people who take a sip and let half the mouthful flow back out? Do they have no oral motor skills? Gah.

Trackbacks

  1. The Not-so-deep Thoughts » Just a Thought on Used Books Royalties

Leave a Reply

