Skip to content

Apostrophe Tip

12 Jan 2009

I was going to do a post about a pet peeve (the improper use of punctuation within and without quotation marks), but I’m sick for the first time in 16 months.  Thus, I’m going to be lazy and steal a tip from my EC editor.

The apostrophe (or single quote, if you prefer) used to denote missing letters should “face” those missing letters:

  • ’til (single closing quote before T, so the quote is “curled” towards the missing letters)
  • y’all (single closing quote after Y)
  • the ’80s (single closing quote before the 8 )
  • ’cause (single closing quote before the C)
One Comment leave one →
  1. azteclady permalink
    13 Jan 2009 8:33 AM

    [I’m sure I’m guilty of the quotation marks peeve–I’ll apologize in advance, hoping you’ll put it up at some point and I can read it (please notice I don’t promise to learn anything, though)]

    The apostrophe tips are cool, thanks!

Leave a Reply

