Skip to content

Why the Editing Is on Hold

29 Jan 2009

Polishing the current WIP was delayed by a week because I have no willpower when it comes to books.  I think I went through six (seven?) books last week and three (four?) of them were meh.  The other three are below.  (These are not reviews because those would take time to write, but there are spoilers.)

Running Hot by Jayne Ann Krentz – Formulaic, predictable, but still enjoyable. She’s competent, he wears Hawaiian shirts, and both are witty. JAK is such a comfort read for me. 🙂  (I know I said I no longer read paranormal romances, but JAK’s books aren’t fangs, fur, and tight leather pants.  Her books just feel like contemporaries with suspense and paranormal undertones.)

Into the Fire by Suzanne Brockmann – (I know this was released last year, but it took a while to get my hands on the audio version).  Drawn-out, convoluted but somehow very predictable, meh main couple, and SB creates a new character to torture mercilessly, but I’m really enjoyed the Izzy/Eden and Decker/Tracy secondary match ups, especially the latter because I’m not a fan of Sophia.

Dark of Night by Suzanne Brockmann – I couldn’t help but roll my eyes a few times because a number of things struck me as incredibly over the top and unbelievable (okay, I have this issue with all other SB books, but it was particularly noticeable in this one), but DoN was still enjoyable.  Or maybe it’s easier for me to dismiss them because I listened to the audio version and allowed my attention to wander occasionally.  Anyway… Decker and Tracy?  So much better than a Decker/Sophia pairing would’ve been.

Next on my nightstand are SEP’s What I Did for Love…and a few comic books.  Sometimes I just want pictures to tell the story.  Less strain on my old eyes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

