Skip to content

CONTEST: Are You Smarter Than an Author?

3 Feb 2009

I was going to title this post “Are You Smarter Than a Third Grader” because I would’ve spotted this error in the third grade, but I decided against it.

Anyway, I paid $8 for this category length book (45k-50k words), and neither the author nor the editor bothered to correct a glaring mistake:

She nestled her cheek against his palm.  “I want to tell you something.  When I was a little girl I was always reading myths.  I guess it was a natural interest, considering my name.  I never liked the one about Pandora, but something about the tale of Persephone fascinated me.  She was the daughter of Demeter, the earth mother, and was stolen by Pluto, the god of the underworld.  Her mother refused to allow one grain of wheat to grow on earth until she was returned.  Man would have perished from starvation if Zeus hadn’t persuaded Pluto to let her go.  They made a deal: Persephone was to spend three seasons on earth, during which time the earth would bloom and bear fruit.  The other season she would return to Pluto in the underworld and the earth would be plunged into winter.”

Pretty obvious, eh?  Point out the error to be entered for a chance to win a box of books.  Give me the author and title of the book and I’ll throw in a download of one of my books or an Amazon gift certificate.  Contest ends February 28, 2009 at 5 PM MST.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    4 Feb 2009 6:39 PM

    Pluto should be Hades. Hades is the Greek counterpart of Pluto. I’m guessing the book is “And The Desert Blooms” by Iris Johansen.

  2. azteclady permalink
    21 Feb 2009 8:06 AM

    No, I’m not. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. The Not-so-deep Thoughts » February Contest Winner

Leave a Reply

