Skip to content

TT #36: It's the Most Hated Time of the Year

18 Mar 2009
Thursday Thirteen

How I Prep for Tax Time

I’ve been preparing and filing my own taxes since I turned sixteen. I glanced over the forms one day, decided they weren’t rocket science, and told my dad I would do my own taxes from that point forward. After all these years, I have perfected a system that makes one Sunday evening every March bearable. (Yes, I still file paper forms because it only takes me two hours and $2 of stamps, whereas electronic filing will cost at least $15 and the time savings is not significant.)

Number 1
My Pilot G-2 Ex pen. It’s fat and has an awesome rubber grip to ensure my hand doesn’t cramp up at an inopportune moment.

Number 2
A 900 mL bottle of Green Goodness Boathouse smoothie. It’s like a meal replacement, only tasty.

Number 3
My polar bear pajamas because wearing them relaxes me.

Number 4
My bathrobe because Calgary’s still frickin’ freezing in March and I have too many bloody windows in my home.

Number 5
My fuzzy slippers because scrunching up my toes in them is one of life’s little pleasures.

Number 6
A pyramid of those incredibly tiny honey mandarins because they’re incredibly easy to peel and incredibly tasty to eat.

Number 7
A big, fat desktop calculator with big, fat keys the size of my thumb and a big, fat display that doesn’t require me to squint.

Number 8
The personal and business tax guides.

Number 9
Four copies of all the tax forms. (I normally only use two, but I like having backups for my backup.)

Number 10
All my T4s, T4PSs, T5s, etc. and RRSP receipts.

Number 11
A notepad for notes and calculations.

Number 12
A sticky pad if I think the CRA need further explanation for any entries.

Number 13
And a bottle of Grey Goose and a bottle of Kahlua to reward myself when I’m done.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 Mar 2009 5:23 PM

    You go girl!! You are my inspiration!

  2. 18 Mar 2009 6:21 PM

    Got ours done last week, and already have the refunds. What a job that is–my heart goes out to you! Happy TT!
    tm

  3. 18 Mar 2009 9:03 PM

    For me, the most necessary thing for the season is the computer.

  4. 18 Mar 2009 9:37 PM

    hey as long as you have a system that works:)

  5. 19 Mar 2009 3:32 AM

    I like the idea of ‘backup for backups’!! Thing is tho, do you get a refund? [kidding!]

    My thirteen is posted. Come visit and view some of my favorite personal photos I took of them….Clydesdales that is. Happy Thursday.

  6. 19 Mar 2009 6:13 AM

    Sounds like you are well prepared. I do mine online because I am lazy lol Happy T13!

  7. 19 Mar 2009 7:13 AM

    Being comfy and cozy while you do your taxes is always a good idea. And the Grey Goose and Kahlua? Might actually get me to do the taxes a bit earlier than the deadline.

  8. 19 Mar 2009 8:00 AM

    Oh, I don’t even want to think about taxes, but happy TT anyway.

  9. 19 Mar 2009 12:41 PM

    I’d like to skip #1-12 and go straight to 13 🙂

  10. 19 Mar 2009 2:30 PM

    mmm, Grey Goose dirty martinis are the BEST!

  11. 19 Mar 2009 8:44 PM

    Both of my parents are accountants. They look at people who do their own taxes much like hairdressers look at people who do their own hair. That being said, may the tax gods smile upon you and grant you refunds.

  12. Ann Bruce permalink
    19 Mar 2009 9:36 PM

    @Journeywoman: I only do my own hair if my mother can’t do it for me. 🙂

    I’ve tried H&R Block…and they could only get back the same amount I calculated.

    ETA: I use a CMA for my corporate taxes because I want that buffer between myself and the Canada Revenue Agency, but I’ve yet to decide if he’s worth the astronomical fee he charges.

Leave a Reply

