Skip to content

Tidbits: RWA, RT and the Unused Book Budget

26 Aug 2009
tags: ,

If candidate has no competition, is a vote still required?
RWA posted the board candidates’ Q&A. I skimmed it and made a list of candidates NOT to vote for–and the list is pretty darned long. In a few cases, the candidate whose views I disagree with is the only person running for that specific position, so my vote is worthless. Now, I’m wondering if renewing my membership to “make a difference” by voting in e-author advocates is a waste of money that could’ve been spent on the PS3 Slim. (Dude, have you seen it? It’s SO pretty…even if it’s matte and not shiny.)

RT picking up the ball dropped by RWA
In better news, the 2010 RT Convention includes a whole host of useful sessions for e-authors. Yay, RT! If my schedule allowed it, I’d so be there. Columbus isn’t too bad. At least they have an NHL team.

I guess the unused funds can go towards the 2010 Honda Fit
So, my reading budget is approximately $3k per annum (comic books are hideously expensive). Two-thirds of the year is gone and only a quarter of the budget is used. Something is obviously wrong.

In the last month, my reading jumped dramatically because of my addiction to my iPod Touch (I have a Sony PRS, but I found it too big for my hands, so I rarely used it…and now I think I’m going to have to find a new owner for it). However, in the first half of the year, I dropped paranormals and historicals. I’ll give Kelley Armstrong another shot with Frostbitten, but no other recent paranormal even makes me want to scope out the blurb.

In historicals, the new Jo Goodman intrigues me, but I’m a little tired of all the sexual and physical abuse in her books. (I picked her up last year, I think, glommed her, and OD’d a bit.) I’ll check out the upcoming Lisa Kleypas, but I have reservations since Seduce Me at Sunrise bored me senseless and the ending should’ve come with a deus ex machina warning. Recently, there have been a slew of historicals garnering high praise in the blogosphere, but I’m wary of them because my reading tastes doesn’t jive with popular blogosphere opinion.

I still enjoy contemporaries, but beyond Harlequin categories, I am EXTREMELY nit-picky. (Cue fake shock.) For instance, I can handle the spineless heroines in Harlequin Presents, but a doormat in a single title will make that book a wall-banger for me. Unfair, I know, but it’s a matter of expectations. Thus, I’ve been sticking to long-time tried and true authors in this romance category. (SEP, Crusie, can’t you ladies write any faster?!?)

I’m still reading mysteries and thrillers, but they’ve been mainly outside the romance genre. That wouldn’t be the case, though, if Tami Hoag and Sandra Brown hadn’t gone mainstream–and if my favorite thriller writer wasn’t a man, thus tempting me to try other male authors. I’m told there are some stellar romantic suspense authors currently published, but I’m going to try them out via the library before whipping out my credit card.

I recently added a three new-to-me authors to my buy list, but they barely make a dent in my budget. Any suggestions? Or should I buy that hardcover Sandman collection I’ve been coveting and complete my collection of Dr. Seuss?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 Aug 2009 8:46 PM

    Have you read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (YA)? It’s intensely suspenseful, imaginative, very strong heroine. Best book I’ve read in years. I think you’d like it.

  2. Ann Bruce permalink
    29 Aug 2009 9:31 PM

    Thanks, Jill. I really enjoyed the Collins book. It reminded me greatly of Battle Royale. You should really see the movie if you haven’t already.

  3. 2 Sep 2009 5:13 AM

    What about Patricia Briggs? I borrowed the first in the Mercy T. series (can’t remember title) from the library the other day. I didn’t have time to read it but I really, really wanted to. I glanced at the first few pages and could tell it was awesome. Good book feeling. Very strong heroine.

Leave a Reply

