Skip to content

TT #43: When Spell Checker Fails

30 Sep 2009
Thursday Thirteen

When Spell Checker Fails
or Why I Edit with Real Paper and a Red Pen

I’m easing myself back into the TTs, so very little snark commentary today. Frankly, I think the errors are amusing enough on their own. Yes, these examples are from books by big names in the publishing world. And, yes, it is scary the editors didn’t catch these errors because some of them are pretty obvious.

Number 1
route canal (no, this story did not take place in Venice or Amsterdam)

Number 2
hare’s breath (wow, two for two!)

Number 3
the greatest sigh of life (no, this wasn’t during a sex scene)

Number 4
her curves pressed to the plains of his body

Number 5
horde of jewelery

Number 6
your welcome

Number 7
loosening thunder (I didn’t realize thunder could be tense)

Number 8
reigned in his anger

Number 9
imminent scientists (they’re right outside the door)

Number 10
eyes slid passed her

Number 11
unladylike epitaph (if I wasn’t planning on cremation, I guess I would be okay with “Bee-otch” on my tombstone)

Number 12
the patience of Jove (someone skipped Sunday school)

Number 13
fulfilled the duel roles of butler and secretary

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 Oct 2009 3:48 AM

    Yes indeedy!!! I too just abhor misspellings!! Typos. Especially when reading a published work that should have been edited and scrutinized before going to the presses!!!

    My 13 is a mixture of funny and fact this week! I also started my 3rd year of October Halloween Treat hand outs on my blog to all the ‘visitors’ [trick r treaters] who stop by! Come on over!!!! [You’ll need to scroll down a bit below my Thursday Thunks Meme entry to view my 13] Happy day to you….see you at my October Abode!

  2. 1 Oct 2009 6:11 AM

    I love funny typos so of course I loved your list. I ought have the impatience of Jove in the morning before I have coffee (coffee or the lack thereof is always a handy excuse).

  3. 1 Oct 2009 10:15 AM

    Great list! I am the same way about misspellings! I recently found a big one in a favorite book, and what a disappointment!

  4. 1 Oct 2009 11:22 AM

    #6 always makes me want to tear my hair out when I hear it/read it. Grrr.

  5. 1 Oct 2009 11:25 AM

    Great list. I love finding typos in books. It’s hilarious.

  6. 1 Oct 2009 11:27 AM

    Thanks for several giggles. My sides hurt from reading this list.

  7. 1 Oct 2009 2:03 PM

    Greatings, Not sure that this is true:), but thanks for a post.
    Have a nice day
    Bodyc

  8. 2 Oct 2009 11:00 PM

    I can’t stand it when I find a misspelling in a book. #6 is the worst, I have never caught that in a book, but I see lots of people do it on their blogs, facebook, etc. Drives me crazy!

  9. 7 Oct 2009 4:59 PM

    Hahaha, unladylike epitaph. I’ve had to look that one up before (epithet?). Still get confused!

Leave a Reply

