Skip to content

TT #45: Are You a Geek?

21 Oct 2009
Thursday Thirteen

Co-worker: I have a question for you.

Me: 42.

CW: I’m not asking for the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything.

Me: You’re a geek. Only a geek would get that reference.

CW: So are you.

Me (looking affronted): I’m not a geek. Around here, I’m the Alpha Geek. I wholly embrace my geekiness and superiority that accompanies it.

CW: You’re a dork.

Me: I’m that too.

Are You a Geek?

The answer’s yes if you use any of the following quotes in casual conversation. I believe I used 12 out of the 13 listed. Alpha Geek, here. Remember?

And brownie points to anyone who knows the origins of the quotes.

 

Number 1
42.

Number 2
So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Number 3
Number One.

Number 4
Make it so. (Extra points if you combine this with #3.)

Number 5
Resistance is futile.

Number 6
It’s a good day to die.

Number 7
Live long and prosper.

Number 8
I have a very bad feeling about this.

Number 9
May the Force be with you.

Number 10
The Force is strong with this one.

Number 11
Time makes all things possible. I can wait.

Number 12
You fail me yet again.

Number 13
Knowing is half the battle.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 Oct 2009 8:34 PM

    Love this.
    Happy TT from a fellow geek.

  2. 21 Oct 2009 9:02 PM

    I didn’t start out as a geek, but I married one, so through the years, I have been exposed to most of those quotes.

  3. 21 Oct 2009 9:27 PM

    Given that we have toddlers, our most common is Use the Fork! But I definitely qualify!

  4. 21 Oct 2009 9:48 PM

    My geek husband has infected me and now I must admit that I am a 13 point geek. Yep, that’s me.

    Happy T13!

  5. 21 Oct 2009 10:33 PM

    I do baked french fries sometimes…they are good. I’m not to big on the sweet potato fries, but all of the rest of my family love them! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. 21 Oct 2009 10:53 PM

    Let’s see, Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Trek, trek, trek, Star Wars…. But I can’t remember 42.

  7. Ann Bruce permalink
    21 Oct 2009 11:03 PM

    @Alice Audrey: The snip at the beginning is a huge hint for 42. And you got everything else except for #11-13.

  8. 22 Oct 2009 5:30 AM

    Yep, I’m a Star Wars fan. Many of these quotes bring a smile to my face. Happy TT!

  9. 22 Oct 2009 5:35 AM

    I think I am more dork than geek.

  10. 22 Oct 2009 8:27 AM

    Ouch. I use at least 3of these regularly and have said most of them before. I didn’t start out to be a geek!

    My Thursday 13 is up. It is . Stop by if you get a moment.

  11. 22 Oct 2009 11:51 AM

    I giggled while reading this because I regularly use # 4, 5, 8, 10, & 13 (GI JOE! Oh, how I loved GI Joe… so few people know what I’m talking about when I say that, and then I feel all old…. babbling. Sorry.)

    My TT: http://mamakitty729.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/089/

  12. 22 Oct 2009 3:18 PM

    I suppose I am not as much as a geek as I thought I was.

    Have a great Thursday! 🙂

  13. 23 Oct 2009 2:03 AM

    I’m married and mom to geeks so I recognize most of these. Fun T13.

Leave a Reply

