Skip to content

TT #46: Halloween for the Anti-Social

28 Oct 2009
tags:
Thursday Thirteen

Halloween for the Anti-Social
or Me, the Sofa, and the Big-Screen TV

As amusing as it would be to watch people dress up as a pimp and his ho (actually did happen last year), Jon and Kate, or Balloon Boy, the Significant Other and I decided we’ll spend this Halloween stretched out on my sofa and go through my collection of Halloween-themed DVDs while munching on a variety of deep-fried goodness.

Number 1
It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Number 2
Garfield’s Halloween Adventure

Number 3
Sleepy Hollow (really, any of Tim Burton’s movies would be suitable for Halloween)

Number 4
Beetlejuice (another Tim Burton)

Number 5
Corpse Bride (and another Tim Burton)

Number 6
The Amazing Screw-on Head (David Hyde Pierce killed me in this title)

Number 7
Hellboy (David Hyde Pierce was amazing in this one too)

Number 8
Army of Darkness (so many classic lines, so few people get them *sigh*)

Number 9
Drag Me to Hell (Sam Raimi doing what he does best: meshing horror and comedy…and not a single emo-teen superhero in sight!)

Number 10
Shaun of the Dead (Zombieland is my new favourite zombie movie, but it’s still in theatres)

Number 11
Hot Fuzz (Timothy Dalton’s in it; doesn’t that make it a horror?)

Number 12
Bram Stoker’s Dracula (probably the only title from Francis Ford Coppola I did not find overly pretentious)

Number 13
Blade (only the first one because the series went in the crapper with the two sequels)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 Oct 2009 8:31 PM

    too scary for me

  2. 28 Oct 2009 8:57 PM

    A good selection of movies. My plans for Halloween include “The Sixth Sense” and a couple of Hitchcock movies. So glad I never get trick-or-treaters here! lol Happy Halloween!

  3. 28 Oct 2009 10:41 PM

    Nothing brings out the Holidays like TV.

  4. 28 Oct 2009 10:44 PM

    The Corpse Bride will be good to watch.. Love the “deep fried goodness” idea hehehe..

    Here is my first Thursday Thirteen

  5. 28 Oct 2009 11:35 PM

    wow! that’s a lot of scary movies to watch..:)

  6. 29 Oct 2009 5:58 AM

    I’d do this too if I wasn’t going to be home alone. LOL I tend to spook myself too bad when I am. Have fun! Happy T13!

  7. 29 Oct 2009 6:58 AM

    I just watched Zombieland the other day. It was crazy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great Thursday!
    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/10/did-you-know-that-scariest-part-of.html
    You should join us on Monday for Monday Mayhem.

  8. mariposa permalink
    29 Oct 2009 8:59 AM

    Good list. I have seen some of those movies and they’re good to watch. ๐Ÿ™‚

    visit my site:
    href=”http://www.mariposatells.com/2009/10/its-all-about-women.html”>Mariposa’s T13!

  9. 29 Oct 2009 9:01 AM

    I’ll be at my house watching movies and I might just try some “deep fried goodness” ๐Ÿ™‚ I leave the Halloween candy until the day after when you get it for half price!!!

    Zombieland—I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD so that I can see it!

    Happy TT!

  10. 29 Oct 2009 8:04 PM

    I would love to see Hellboy again and Blade (sorry I liked all of them)but I am a bit too old for Charlie Brown!LOL!

  11. 29 Oct 2009 10:05 PM

    Nice list. I always love to Sleepy Hallow too… and Hocus Pocus too. Such a classic ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

