Skip to content

A Writer’s Job Is to Embellish or Giveaways and Doing the Blogging Circuit

13 Jun 2010

At my high school, we used to raise money by holding slave auctions. Students, girls and guys, would volunteer themselves as slaves for a day and be sold to the highest bidder. A lot of the girls volunteered to be slaves knowing their boyfriends would be obligated to buy them. Me, I preferred to do the buying because there was too many people in high school who would’ve loved to humiliate me as payback for my smart mouth.

One year, at the end of an auction, someone ran up onto the makeshift stage and made a bid for me. I glared at him but he didn’t take back the bid. I remember thinking that he probably wanted me to do his homework or some such nonsense because while he was–and still is–very, very cute, he wasn’t gifted academically. When I said, “No way in hell,” but in much nicer terms because teachers were present, he upped the bid. And I, rather ungraciously, gave in.

Turns out, he only wanted to see me take my hair down–and walk two steps behind him all day.

Many years later, I took that high school incident, wildly embellished it because that’s what writers do, and turned it into Parker’s Price, a contemporary romance that has “all the alpha-male goodness of a category romance combined with all the hands-on, sizzling attraction heat of an erotic romance” (Night Owl Reviews).

I’ll be giving away Parker’s Price at the following blogs:

If you want to enter my contest for one of three (3) $50 Amazon gift certificates, winning a copy of Parker’s Price at one of the above blogs might help. (Hint, hint.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

