Skip to content

CONTEST: What are you reading?

1 Jul 2010

Dark Side of DreamingTwo birds, one stone: give y’all a heads up on Dark Side of Dreaming, which is coming out July 9 from Ellora’s Cave, and add to my TBR.

I’ve been going through a romance reading slump for the last…oh, year or so. Not that I haven’t been reading; I’ve been reading plenty: sci-fi, mysteries, thrillers, children’s books (yes, children’s, not YA), and graphic novels galore (I just finished the first two volumes in Andy Diggle’s and Jock’s The Losers and I love them so much I keep stroking the covers while I wait for the last three volumes to arrive).

Anyway, I really, really want to kick this romance slump. Tell me what romance title you’re reading or plan on reading next. Three random commenters will get a copy of Dark Side of Dreaming, my upcoming romantic suspense about a former cat burglar who discovers that coming out of retirement is not as easy as she thinks–especially when she finds herself at the mercy of a mark who wants something more than her professional expertise.

Winners will be announced July 8, 2010.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. R. G. permalink
    1 Jul 2010 6:46 PM

    Actually there are three that I’ve been awaiting for this year (I wanted Patricia Briggs new Alpha and Omega, but that isn’t due ’til next year). Ghost Town By Rachel Caine, not due ’til October, Dark Peril by Christine Feehan, and A Wild Light by Marjorie M. Liu out in July. Anyway I think only one is considered a romance and that would be Dark Peril. But I kinda got hooked on the others too. What is sad is that I’m not usually a series reader because I absolutly hate waiting for the next book, like with the Alpha Omega series. Unfortunatly, Feehan I got hooked on back in middle school and the others I didn’t realize they were a series until after I read them, by then it was too late. Have a good night.

    • 2 Jul 2010 1:02 PM

      Never tried Patricia Briggs but I hear consistently good things about her, so that might go on my list. I don’t mind series because I’ve learned to drop them once it starts going downhill (hard lesson learned because of LKH).

  2. 3 Jul 2010 12:43 AM

    “A Hellion in her Bed” by Sabrina Jeffries–I loved her ‘School for Heiresses’ series and this is the second book in the follow up series ‘Hellions of Halstead Hall’.

    “Butterfly Swords” by Jeannie Lin–Tang Dynasty era romance. Meaning asian historical romance! Which makes me a happy Lexie.

    “Rules of an Engagement” by Suzanne Enoch–her third ‘Adventurer’s Club’ book. More historical romance šŸ˜„

    “Ten Ways to be Adored When Landing A Lord” by Sarah MacLean–I loved her teen Regency romance (The Season) and I loved her first mainstream historical romance “Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake”

    “Dust of Dreams” by Renee Wildes–fantasy romance, fourth book in her Guardians of Light series!

    Every single one of Zoe Archer’s upcoming paranormal historical romance series “The Blades of the Rose” (4 back to back releases starting in Sept!)

    “Christmas Mail-Order Brides” by various–Its my annual holiday inspirational historical romance anthology. Something about them makes me happy šŸ˜€

    …um so I may have listed too many?

    Lexie C.

    • 3 Jul 2010 10:44 AM

      No, I love enthusiasm for reading!

      The Jeannie Lin one is a little tempting. I tried two Asian historicals (one with an Asian cast and Asian setting; one with an Asian heroine) before and snorted at, respectively, the purple prose and the inaccuracies, but the Lin one might be the charm.

  3. Jane permalink
    3 Jul 2010 12:10 PM

    Congrats on the upcoming release, Ann. I going to be reading Lorie O’Clare’s “Strong, Sleek and Sinful,” Shannon McKenna’s “Fade to Midnight,” Karen Rose’s “Silent Scream” and Stephanie Laurens’ “The Brazen Bride.”

    • 3 Jul 2010 5:41 PM

      Thanks, Jane.

      From the title, I assume the Karen Rose is romantic suspense. Is it like Tami Hoag, dark and gritty procedurals or is it more relationship focused?

  4. Jane permalink
    4 Jul 2010 1:14 PM

    Karen’s books are pretty dark and gritty and I think the relationship takes a backseat to the mystery and suspense.

  5. Cathy MacDonald permalink
    5 Jul 2010 4:22 PM

    I am reading the new Nalini Singh, Psy story, Bonds of Justice, and lovin it so far. Up next is Dark Embers by Tessa Adams (Tracy Wolff), Second Chance by Christy Reece and The Untamed Bride by Stephanie Laurens.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  6. Maggie S permalink
    8 Jul 2010 6:17 PM

    I’m reading Lisa Kleypas’s “Love in the Afternoon” and plan on reading Loretta Chase’s “Last Night’s Scandal”.

Trackbacks

  1. What Are You Reading Contest Winners « The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

