Skip to content

The Good, the Meh, and Huh?: Reviews for PARKER’S PRICE

12 Jul 2010

After six books (okay, two novels and four novellas) and numerous reviews, reader comments, and anonymous ratings, I learned if a writer doesn’t already have thick skin, she’d better develop one fast.

Anyway, I’m told I should draw attention to my book reviews. It’s supposed to do something crazy like help with sales and publicity. I figure it can’t hurt.

Or can it?

You tell me.

The Good

Hear that? That’s the sound of my ego being stroked.

“Ms. Bruce is an incredibly talented author who weaves her complex plots and conflicts with apparent ease and smoothness that ensures you keep turning the page. The writing is strong, the characters well-developed and the storyline fascinating. If you like your books to include scintillating sex, passion and a strong and absorbing plot, then this book is a must read for you.” ~ Long and Short Reviews, 4.5 (Read entire review)

I purposely kept the mystery light and fluffy–or tried to–because I wanted to write a contemporary romance. However, it sounds like I should go back to my comfort zone.

“Steeped in mystery, sensual encounters, and stunning revelations Parker’s Price is a thrilling read. Dean and Parker complement each other beautifully but there are huge issues that they have to overcome if there’s any hope of them sharing a future. While the courtship between Dean and Parker is humorous and at times even a little frustrating it’s the action that goes on when they aren’t looking that kept me guessing. Ann Bruce isn’t afraid to mix hot and steamy romance with a little foul play. Throw in a dash of emotional angst and the combination is sure to capture the imagination.” ~ Romance Junkies, 4.5 (Read entire review)

I totally didn’t see the Pride and Prejudice thing, but I’ll go with it.

Parker’s Price is a fantastic romp which I devoured in no time at all as I was unable to put it down once I started. It’s got that tiny hint of Pride and Prejudice going for it as Parker inevitably must face her wrong preconceptions and discover the truth behind Dean’s character. There’s also a mystery as several creepy criminal activities are perpetrated against Parker, scaring Dean but also giving him a chance to flex those protective alpha muscles.” ~ Love Passion Romance, 4 (Read entire review)

My sex scenes make people blush? This is why I don’t let my mom read my writing.

“Erotic and sexy, this story was absolutely deliciously sinful with every word, carrying the reader away with this entertaining plot and emotional love story. If you are in the mood for a sinfully sexy man who will stop at nothing to get the heart of the woman who holds his heart, smoking’ hot love scenes that will make you blush and an intriguing plot twist that will keep you guessing, this is the perfect read for you!” ~ Book Junkie, 4 (Read entire review)

I love the ending of the book too.

“[Parker’s Price] is well paced and flows very nicely. The scene in the gym was very HOT and well worth the wait. The ending had a nice twist and definitely surprised me. I love when a book does that. It’s definitely worth picking up.” ~ Everybody Needs A Little Romance, 4 (Read entire review)

“I was very happy with [Parker’s Price]. It flowed smoothly…and was wrapped up in a nice bow…at the end. The sex scenes were steamy and the story was well told. I really do love the alpha male–won’t take no for an answer and treats you just right… If you enjoy fast-paced, sexy reads, you will enjoy this.” ~ My Disorganized Ramblings (Read entire review)

The Meh

Wendy’s review made me laugh. And she really, really liked Dean. (First emphasis mine.)

“Ever read a book that you know you should really dislike and yet…you don’t? I can count on one hand how many times it has happened to me, but happened it has. And now I have a new title to add to my list of examples: Parker’s Price by Ann Bruce. In this instance, I credit the author’s skill for keeping me engaged in the story and a jaw-droppingly, sexy-beyond-words hero.

“Essentially what readers are going to get here is a category romance. If I were to label this one, using the print Harlequin lines, I would say this is a cross between a Harlequin Presents and a Silhouette Desire. Somewhere in that ball park at any rate. Dean certainly fits the mold of those types of heroes. He’s Alpha all the way, sexy as sin, with plenty of money to throw around, and is also protective and persistent. Readers who generally gravitate towards hero first, heroine second, are going to be very happy with this guy. Yummers!

“While Parker does have trust issues, this isn’t a real angst-y internal conflict driven read. Dean is blessedly free of stereotypical hero angst (OMG, a hero who had a happy childhood?!) so the job of keeping this story moving is thrust on Parker, the external conflict, and some smokin’ hot love scenes that bring sexy back.” ~ Wendy the Super Librarian, C (Read entire review)

This review pretty much sums up the book:

Parker’s Price is all the alpha-male goodness of a category romance combined with all the hands-on, sizzling attraction heat of an erotic romance: a taste of both worlds, if you enjoy both worlds (and I do).” ~ Night Owl Reviews, 3 (Read entire review)

She likes Dean, I like Dean. We might get along.

“Dean is just Dean–he made me smile a lot.” ~ Erotic Horizons, (Read entire review)

This reviewer, on the other hand, thought my hero is too alpha. I still want a button.

Parker’s Price has some hot scenes in it and I like the way Ann Bruce writes. I just didn’t like Dean. If he had been more toned down and Parker more secure I would have enjoyed this one better.” ~ Smexy Books, 2.5 (Read entire review)

And Huh?

“Ann Bruce does a wonderful job twisting what could have been a sordid tale into a carefully constructed, sexy plot turner in her latest.

“This is one tale you won’t want to put down. Ms. Bruce is one to watch for in the future. The only negative I will say is that this story could have used a little more fine-tuning. There were parts where I had to re-read in order to understand what was said or being done. Not enough to detour [sic] my interest, but enough to be noticeable. Overall, though, the story fulfilled the promise of a great romance.” ~ We Write Romance, 3 out of 4 (Read entire review)

My takeaway from these reviews? Since I can’t do plausible internal or familial conflicts, I should stick to alpha heroes, suspense plots, and smokin’ hot sex. Hey, that’s my latest release!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. AztecLady permalink
    14 Jul 2010 10:23 AM

    What I seee is that I didn’t make your list *pouts*

    • 14 Jul 2010 5:32 PM

      You’re so special, your review will be included in a more…exclusive post: The Good, The Meh, and The Ugly.

Leave a Reply

