Skip to content

TRUE GRIT Is the Greatest Western Movie. Ever.

22 Dec 2010

Breaking my weekly posting schedule for this brief:

True Grit is the story of Mattie Ross, who is just fourteen years of age when a coward going by the name of Tom Chaney shoots her father down in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and robs him of his life, his horse, and two gold pieces. Mattie leaves home to avenge her father’s blood. With the one-eyed Rooster Cogburn, the meanest available U.S. Marshal, by her side, Mattie pursues the homicide into Indian Territory.

I can safely say True Grit is my favorite Coen Brothers film. It even beats out No Country for Old Men and Bad Santa–and I really, really love Bad Santa. I haven’t seen the original True Grit with John Wayne, but I can’t imagine that version having the trademark Coen wit and humor. Frankly, from what I’ve seen of early westerns (e.g. The Magnificent Seven), they took themselves too seriously and the calibre of acting made me want to laugh at the movies, not with them. The Coen Brothers’ version is simple, well-cast, laugh-out-loud funny, and–believe or not–very, very charming. And I loved all the characters, even the villains. This film may be my favorite of 2010.

So, even if you’re not a fan of westerns, do yourself a favor and go see True Grit.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 Dec 2010 8:16 PM

    Way back when, when Super Librarian Wendy mentioned this remake, I waited for the trailers. Upon seeing the first one, I decided I’m getting this movie on DVD, sight unseen. Thank you for confirming my hunch! 😉

    • 1 Jan 2011 11:17 AM

      Saw the John Wayne version. The Coen Brothers did it so, so much better. Strangely enough, the latter also felt more authentic.

      • 1 Jan 2011 7:01 PM

        My apologies, I meant that after watching the first trailer for the Coen Brothers’ version, I decided to get it on DVD the moment it comes out.

      • 2 Jan 2011 2:43 PM

        Oh, I know.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Recap « Ann Bruce | The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

