Skip to content

2011’s Most Wanted: The Reading Edition

10 Jan 2011

The list is very light on the romance, so I think the reading shift is permanent. It’ll be interesting to see how my writing will change with it.

  1. Heat Wave and Naked Heat by Richard Castle: How can I resist real books written by a fictional author portrayed by Nathan Fillion? And while the TV series, Castle, takes some serious liberties with, well, reality, it’s funny and Fillion is as charming as ever. Also, I have to tip my hat to ABC for this great marketing ploy, although I’m sure they were inspired by Jessica Fletcher.
  2. Hellboy: The Sleeping and the Dead by Mike Mignola: A new Hellboy series! There is a Santa Claus.
  3. Secrets to the Grave by Tami Hoag: This book is a sequel to Deeper Than the Dead, which I loved. I expect deep characterization, a heinous crime, and a few loose ends to make me shudder. I almost want to characterize Hoag as the female Dennis Lehane.
  4. Lavender’s Blue by Jennifer Crusie: Crusie’s first installment in a new detective series. I expect intelligent characters, witty banter, and most likely a dog.
  5. Call Me Irresistible by Susan Elizabeth Phillips: (Most of) her books make me smile. That’s enough.
  6. The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson: I’m a little late to the game, but the North American covers and titles of this series led to me to believe it was a YA paranormal series with lots of eye-rolling, gag-inducing teenage angst. Yeah, I was way off base. Anyway, I’m in the middle of the first book and while I find the English translation wordy and more tell than show, the story is engrossing.
  7. The Dexter Morgan series by Jeff Lindsay.: While Dexter is my favorite TV series (it’s so good, it even made me like Julia Stiles) because it’s dark humor, I haven’t read the books. After five seasons, I think it’s high time to remedy the situation.
  8. The Kenzie and Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane: A predictable but excellent detective series-very dark, very witty, and non-HEA endings. If you’ve seen Gone, Baby, Gone and enjoyed it (I loved it), try the books. I’ve finished Gone, Baby, Gone and its sequel, Moonlight Mile, and it’s time to read the rest.

Obviously, I’ll read a plethora of additional titles between now and December 31, 2011, (I do, after all, average about three titles per week [the MBA eats into a lot of my reading time]), but are there any books you think I MUST ABSOLUTELY read? Please note I no longer read paranormal or historical romances.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

