Skip to content

Disappointed

4 Apr 2011
tags:

My thanks to the handful of commenters, but the title pretty much sums it up.

Feeling optimistic, I posted a link to the Japan and How You Can Help (No Donations Required) post on five different professional authors (i.e. authors who get paid) loops. I figured since these people get het up and act all the time on over little things like poor reviews, editors and agents who reject their manuscripts, people who sell ARCs, piracy, the reading evolution, issues with conference hotel rooms, the cost of attending conferences, etc., they would be the perfect audience for my topic.

Uh, no, I was so very, very wrong.

Only a fraction could be bothered to click on the link and of those who did, less than 1% took ten seconds to leave a comment. Yeah. I have no words…at least none I want to make public.

My goal, however, was to raise awareness and I think I did raise a teeny, tiny amount. Thus, I’ll make the $1000 donation anyway.

Now, to make myself feel better, I’m off to watch The Penguins of Madagascar.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 15 Apr 2011 3:04 AM

    I am so sorry to hear that Ann! Some of us bloggers are also doing a donation for Japan Relief Fund, unfortunately the response was also not stellar at all *sighs* though only 2-5 dollars would have made a difference if a lot of people would have donated.

    Anyway here is the link if you decide to check it out: http://www.stella-exlibris.com/2011/04/stand-for-japan-giveaway-hop.html

    Have a nice weekend! 🙂

    • 16 Apr 2011 1:27 PM

      Thanks, Stella. I learned over the years to never ask money from people (except for family) because of so MANY reasons, but I thought it would be different if I was putting up the money instead of them.

Leave a Reply

