Skip to content

The Mr. Rogers of Shoes

22 Oct 2011
tags:

I like to pride myself on my self-restraint when it comes to shopping. I always shake my head when my mother tells me about our extended family’s shopaholism. Several aunts and too many cousins can’t resist a sale. Actually, most of them can’t resist non-sales. Two of them are so addicted to the swoosh of their credit cards being swiped that they buy clothes in all sizes and then give them away, sometimes to unwilling recipients. And I always thought I was above it all. After all, how can someone who saves fifty percent of her gross salary have a shopping problem?

Then I realized I love shiny gadgets. I currently have four external hard drives, three laptops, two iPods, and a partridge in a pear tree. I also collect original artwork (the Dr. Seuss print is the only reproduction in my collection), movies, books, and kitchenware. (Does a household of one really need a roaster that can hold a twenty-pound turkey? Yes? I thought so too.) Despite the indulgence of my wants, I still thought myself superior to those shopaholics in my family and the one in that horrid chick flick series. Because I’m different! I hate going to the mall! And it’s not like I’m buying clothes. (Yes, I hear the weakness in my own rationalization.)

Last week, unfortunately, I looked at my personal finance spreadsheet–and gasped at amount in the clothes category. Apparently, electronic toys aren’t the only shiny things that catch my eye.

I really love the colour and the cute bow.

Every woman needs a pair of basic black pumps.

I couldn’t resist the decorative bow and stitching details, which go well with one of my pairs of patterned tights and any of my plaid skirts.

I love the design so much I bought a second pair in marbled red.

I wanted a pair of ballet flats for work when my toes can’t take the pressure anymore. And I really, really love the stitching details. And the shiny, shiny patent leather.

I donated five pairs of shoes to charity this year, so buying five new pairs to replace them is okay. Or it would had I stopped at five. But, alas, I bought nine new pairs. So far. And I can’t stop myself because I already have pair number ten for 2011 picked out:

Aren’t they pretty? They will go great with my grey wool trousers and skirts.

I have thirty pairs of shoes at home and another eleven in the office. Probably a little much. But have you tried trudging through a foot or two or five (yes, FIVE feet) of snow in heels? Not fun. I much prefer walking to work in runners or boots and changing my shoes at the office. Kind of like Mr. Rogers and his sweater. Unlike Mr. Rogers, however, there’s yet to be one pair of shoes that goes with all of my outfits.

*sigh*

My next heroine may have a shoe fetish just so I can justify my sickness.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 Oct 2011 6:10 PM

    I’m sure I’ll have something to say about the shoes when (if?) I can imagine 30 pairs of shoes in my closet, but I confess that what stopped my mind in its tracks first was the “saves 50 of her gross salary” bit.

    If I have a dream, is to be able to say that one day! (given what I make per hour, at this point I’m quite proud of not carrying a credit card balance for food purchase from month to month!)

    (It’s not envy, Ann, is unbridled admiration, honestly)

    • Ann Bruce permalink
      24 Oct 2011 6:26 PM

      You’re alive!

      Has the job improved?

      As for the shoes, I admit my consumerism is a little out of hand.

      • 24 Oct 2011 8:32 PM

        Shoes: I think it depends on whether you can/do wear a number of different outfits and styles thereof on a regular basis. If your job–like mine–requires a uniform and a specific type of shoe, and you are not a social person, having more than a handful of pairs of shoes is a true waste (empty consumerism, if you will).

        On the other hand, if you actually wear something different to work every day, and something different every season, and occasionally must even attend social events that require something other than jeans/sweats… well, then 30 (or 40) pairs of shoes makes a lot more sense.

        Alive: in a manner of speaking (and in the month of zombies too)

        Job: in a word… no. But hey, that’s life, right?

  2. melika enright permalink
    18 Jul 2012 1:29 AM

    I’m with you on the shoes. Where did you get those super cute grey wool ones? I’d kill to get a pair, i’ve been searching all over for a cute pair like those to go with my grey skirt.

    • 18 Jul 2012 6:59 AM

      Naturalizer. Nice inexpensive shoes that can be quite comfy. Those particular pair, however, aren’t available anymore, but there’s a similar pair called Bean. I tried them on yesterday and they’re so cute and comfortable. I might cave and buy them when they go on sale.

Leave a Reply

