Skip to content

My Apologies to Smashwords

1 Jan 2012

According to Mark Coker’s 2011 in review post, Smashwords has a staff of 13. That’s right: one-three. I had no idea Smashwords is a small business (tiny, really, despite its reach through the powers of the Internet). Now, I feel like a heel for bitching about their slow response and inconsistent review process. I’m so used to dealing with giant corporations with dedicated customer service people in the hundreds who respond to queries and complaints within 2 business days that I feel entitled to that level of service from all companies.

But what did I learn from my little kerfuffle with Smashwords? E-mails to Mark Coker are dealt with very quickly. Even faster than e-mails to Ken Lewis when he was CEO, President, and Chairman of Bank of America. (Yes, I’m one of those people who will go to the top if I get frustrated enough. I’m customer service’s worst nightmare when I feel strongly about something. Actually, maybe not because a business’s worst nightmare is to lose customers without knowing why and being unable to address its issues. As for BofA, it did implement a change, which made many, many of its customers happy, of which I’m still one.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 Jan 2012 7:04 PM

    I’ve been a fan of Smashwords for about a year–published my first book five months ago. I’ve been frustrated and annoyed at times, but I’ve also seen amazing changes. Most of the big stuff was done when there were only three staff. Mark sent personal thanks when I reported spammers and other problems. I don’t always agree with him 100% about everything, but the guy is a wonder, and the biggest supporter of indie writers that you’ll ever find. I’m very glad you didn’t go away mad. Personally, I’m loyal enough to Smashwords that I don’t publish on Amazon.

    • Ann Bruce permalink
      3 Jan 2012 10:31 PM

      Congrats on the book, Catana. While I think Smashwords has room for improvement, which it appears it plans on addressing in 2012, it is impressive. Also, although I don’t always approve of Amazon’s tactics, I can’t boycott it because it’s been great to me as a purchaser (computers don’t give you that look when you buy romance novels, unlike sales people in stores and there’s no waiting in line) and now as an indie author.

  2. 4 Jan 2012 6:34 AM

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I can understand about “the look” from salse people. Sometimes our interests can be just a bit embarrassing. I do buy from Amazon, but if the book is published on Smashwords, I’ll buy it there instead. And I’ll usually buy from the publisher, if it’s a small, online concern because I’d rather support the indies whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

