Skip to content

A Review to Make My Nerdy Heart Sing

23 Jan 2012

I generally don’t read much into reviews, good or bad, because (1) taste is very subjective, (2) reviews are for readers, and (3) doing so is the first step down a very slippery slope. In fact, these days I no longer go to review sites to even thank reviewers for taking the time to read and review my books because I find it creates awkwardness and stifles conversation. I guess it’s much easier to talk about a book when you think the author isn’t paying attention.

So, it takes a lot to snag my attention; it takes even more to make me stop, put a hand to my chest, and smile stupidly. However, one Amazon reviewer managed it with two little words: “Carefully edited.

Yes, I am a nerd and take great pride in wielding that red pen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 Jan 2012 10:39 AM

    Well done you – many writers could do with that skill!

    • Ann Bruce permalink
      23 Jan 2012 3:33 PM

      Thanks! I think that skill shouldn’t be confined to writers. One day, for the sake of my sanity, I may put on a basic writing seminar for the engineers in my department. Or send them copies of The Elements of Style. It hurts to see it’s and its mixed up all the time.

  2. 24 Jan 2012 5:44 AM

    That’s a lovely review.

Leave a Reply

