Skip to content

Dear Ann: You Suck

4 Feb 2012

Like every writer, I enjoy reading fan mail. Reading my own fan mail is even better. As anti-social as I am, I make an effort to respond to every fan mail because if a reader can take the time to write me, I can make the time to reply.

Occasionally, I do receive e-mails from readers that are…questionable. To date, I handle those e-mails by ignoring them. But should I? Read on and decide. (Note: Some of the notes may be corrected and paraphrased for clarity.)

Parker’s Price sounds like it was written by a stay-at-home-mom who’s never worked in the real world.

Should I point out that I’ve worked for about half a dozen major corporations, including HP and Microsoft, doing everything from programming to financial analysis to managing projects?

Rebound is smut. You should warn readers so they aren’t deceived.

If by smut you mean there’s a lot of sex, then yes, maybe it is. And I am sorry the naked couple on the cover, the blurb, the explicit excerpt, and the fact that it’s published by Ellora’s Cave under the Exotica line, which is for erotic fiction, didn’t make it clear.

The covers for A Naughty Noelle and Rules of Engagement aren’t safe for children. You should change them.

Well, my books aren’t meant for children and, strangely enough, I think the covers should convey that. (Although, I think there’s something seriously wrong with society when blood, violence, and mayhem are okay for children but something as natural as sex is taboo.)

Before Dawn was okay, but I could’ve made it better. You should hire me to edit your books.

Believe it or not, I received two of these solicitations within two weeks. Oy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 4 Feb 2012 3:49 PM

    I believe it (about the solicitations)

    The rest of the email? Yeah, questionable, at least. But I don’t know that replying to them would be any better than ignoring them.

    • 4 Feb 2012 6:05 PM

      I know you’re right. And it must be a sign of maturity that the thought of not countering their statements doesn’t chafe as much now as it would a few years ago. Do all people mellow as they get older? I thought I’d get crankier—and was looking forward to it.

      • 4 Feb 2012 8:31 PM

        Oh I don’t know about mellower *chuckle* just wiser.

Trackbacks

  1. The Conundrum of Free « Ann Bruce | The Not-so-deep Thoughts

Leave a Reply

