Skip to content

No, I Don’t Want Family and Friends Reading My Books

9 Jun 2012

From an author on the RWA Published Authors Network loop:

When considering a free book to download, I look at the customer rating if I don’t recognize the author’s name. Of course this is seldom an accurate reflection of the writing quality, but I figure if the author can’t get good reviews from family and friends, it isn’t worth my time.

*head*desk* No wonder readers no longer trust reviews.

I looked at this author’s books on Amazon and, yup, all glowing reviews and most from the same reviewers.

For the record, my family and friends have neither read nor reviewed by books because they don’t need to know what I do in my spare time. And, frankly, gaming the review system is sad.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 Jun 2012 4:58 PM

    It does kinda seem like that person is saying “I don’t want to read things by people who can’t make friends.” I’m always torn on stuff like this. I want to succeed. I don’t’ want to cheat, but it seems like a lot of people are dishonest in their approach to things.

    Though I did leave a review for my friends self published book of puns that was “best thing I’ve read on the crapper in years.”

    I might have exaggerated a little.

    • 13 Jun 2012 6:12 PM

      Cynic that I am, I interpreted that comment as “I can wheedle friends and family into behaving unethically. Why can’t you?”

      If a friend picks up your book, reads it, genuinely likes it, and leaves a good review, that’s fine. However, giving someone a glowing review just because you know them corrupts the system.

      • 13 Jun 2012 9:45 PM

        I agree with your sentiments. Abuse is always unfortunate.

Leave a Reply

