Skip to content

Do We Need More Self-Publishing How-to’s?

6 Jul 2012

With the plethora of self-publishing how-to’s out there, is there any value to me writing and posting my own set? You tell me. And no, I wouldn’t put it in e-book format to sell. I think writers get ripped off enough as it is.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 Jul 2012 2:24 PM

    I think a variance of opinions is good on any subject. I want to hear more about success stories on a low budget though and less “don’t publish bad stories, and rethink if you can’t afford a professional editor.”

    • 6 Jul 2012 3:09 PM

      What you need are beta-readers. I’ll be putting together a post on my experiences with them soon. Although really, I think “don’t publish bad stories” is a given, and no one would publish what they thought to be bad. Mediocre, yes, but bad, no.

      • 6 Jul 2012 3:43 PM

        I need to do a post about the four stages of competence as it relates to writing because too many self-published writers suffer from unconscious incompetence.

  2. 6 Jul 2012 3:07 PM

    Yes, even if it’s just for you. I find I often sort out, solidify, or even generate, new ideas when I’m writing about writing. The person who finds my writing advice to be the most useful is probably me, but that’s okay. After all, I do most of my editing anyways.

    • 6 Jul 2012 3:41 PM

      I was thinking more the technical aspects of self-publishing, such as creating ePub files and such. I was just annoyed because I saw a writer get ripped off about a month ago because she (1) didn’t exercise good judgement (the vanity publisher she used made my skin crawl) and (2) didn’t know all she needs is a Word document to self-publish.

      • 6 Jul 2012 3:48 PM

        As someone with some serious Luddite tendencies, I would read these, and then probably blog about liking them.

      • 6 Jul 2012 3:50 PM

        Also, I don’t know if I can reply to your reply above (I don’t know how deep the comment go, I do know I’m not on Reddit), but unconscious incompetence sounds terrifying.

Leave a Reply

